what's the advantage of having Balanced inputs? - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-05-2006, 05:29 PM Thread Starter

what's the advantage of having Balanced inputs?

Hey guys, i was wondering about the difference between balanced and unbalanced inputs, and how much could it affect my recordings? lets say i am buying a protools digi 002 rack, will i be able to connect the balanced outs of the POD XT PRO to the digi 002 and would that be to the mic inputs of the unit instead of the line in/instrument one?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-05-2006, 05:33 PM

Re: what's the advantage of having Balanced inputs?

Balanced I think means stereo. Not sure. Im a noob.
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-05-2006, 05:40 PM Thread Starter

no its not. it has a difference in the decibels.
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-05-2006, 06:12 PM

Less chance of clipping I think, although I'm also a noob XD
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-05-2006, 07:06 PM

Um, I think all those explanations are wrong. The link below describes it in the simplest terms I could find, but to put it even simpler, balanced cables provide a means of noise cancellation that can result in a greater signal to noise ratio. In order to take advantage of balanced inputs, you need balanced cables (TRS or XLR cables) and a device with balanced outputs.

http://www.wpi.edu/Academics/Depts/H...bal-unbal.html

--B
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-05-2006, 07:22 PM

^^^exactly
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-05-2006, 08:25 PM

I was hoping more people would blindly guess before we got a real answer.