Who Makes Custom Parts? - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 02-28-2003, 08:15 AM Thread Starter

Who Makes Custom Parts?

Hi Guys,

I'm a programmer so I apologize to anyone who considers this a basic question. I have an idea for a new tremolo system. Its only an idea in my head and on a 3D file right now.

The tremolo system I have in mind will be made up of various little components, similar in that respect to a normal Edge-style tremolo. What I would like to know is who exactly should I go to for getting all those various little components/parts, such as saddle-units, springs, tremolo mounting block etc., made:

I think I can find out about most of the other blue-print, legal etc. issues on the net, but please help me out specifically about:

1.) What type of person will be able to physically create a part according to any given plan?

2.) Roughly how long it would take to make/order these:
> Springs
> Screws

3.) How long would it take to have these made:
> Tremolo bar
> Tremolo mounting block
> Tremolo saddle unit (it just needs to be a specifically-shaped piece of metal)

4.) Would it take a lot of money to develop something like this.

Thank you very much for looking at this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 02-28-2003, 11:32 AM
EKG

Prototypes are always expensive. Trust me. After doing bike frames and guitars, I have learned

I would just search out local machine shops AND the local schools and colleges. The machine shop students/instructors might like to be involved in something like that.
post #3 of 3 (permalink) Old 02-28-2003, 01:08 PM

Kevan would probably be able to lend some valuable insight into this subject. He should be back around the site next week hopefully.

Tags
tremolo bar , tremolo system

Quick Reply

Register Now