*looking for the right sound* - Jemsite
Pickups & wiring Discussion about pickup types, replacements, recomendations, switching, wiring diagrams and sustainer systems for ANY guitar, JEMs included.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 04-28-2005, 05:46 PM Thread Starter

Arrow *looking for the right sound*

i'm a indie/emo artist who finds some guilty pleasure in hardcore punk. right now i'm playin my standard strat and want to to some upgrading. i want something with a warm vintage sound that can still be crunchy.
it was suggested i try a telecaster neck with a gibson burstbucker 2 at the bridge, but i'm really just shooting in the dark. any advice would be VERY much appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 04-28-2005, 10:45 PM
rgr

Re: *looking for the right sound*

A Tele neck won't just bolt onto a Strat body, they are shaped different where they go together. I'm not sure how that would give you a change in tone either, they are very similar necks. Pretty much any humbucker in the bridge will give you a warmer, crunchier sound, there are so many out there it's hard to tell you where to start, but a DiMarzio Norton would be a good place, and I think you can get them cheaper than the Gibsons. But, you'll probably have to have your Strat routed and the pickguard cut for a full-size humbucker, oh yeah, you will probably want to change the volume pot from 250K to 500K. DiMarzio and Seymour Duncan also make single-coil size humbuckers that will mount in with no modification, the Duncans are also made to work fine with 250K pots, so they will involve the least work, not sure if the DiMarzios are made to work with 250K or 500K pots.

Hope this helps,
Roger
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 04-28-2005, 11:08 PM