5-way switch wired as a 3-way - Jemsite
Pickups & wiring Discussion about pickup types, replacements, recomendations, switching, wiring diagrams and sustainer systems for ANY guitar, JEMs included.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-18-2008, 08:33 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: MA
Posts: 45
5-way switch wired as a 3-way

Hi all,
How would I wire my RG7620 5 way into a 3? I am installing Blackouts. Can you help me?

Thanks.
bmedeiros678 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-18-2008, 09:13 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: South West UK
Posts: 953
Re: 5-way switch wired as a 3-way

The problem is the 7620 has a bizarre switch (used in all 2 pickup RGs) that allows for series and parallel options for the neck pickup. I posted details here
http://www.jemsite.com/forums/showthread.php?t=70571
You'd be better replacing with a 3 way blade switch if you can find one, or I suppose you could use a 5 way Megaswitch and come up with some new options for the extra 2 positions, say both pickups in series and both pickups out of phase if this is possible with the Blackouts (I looked at Seymour Duncan's site and couldn't find specific wiring info)
Jim
Vim Fuego is offline  
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-18-2008, 09:18 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Braga, Portugal
Posts: 1,339
Reviews: 4
Re: 5-way switch wired as a 3-way

No problem!
You'd need a super-5-way, which your RG7620 already has!

That way, you'll just have to wire positions 2, 3 and 4 to activate both pickups simultaneously.
Crazy_Guitar is offline  
post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-18-2008, 09:28 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: MA
Posts: 45
Re: 5-way switch wired as a 3-way

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crazy_Guitar View Post
No problem!
You'd need a super-5-way, which your RG7620 already has!

That way, you'll just have to wire positions 2, 3 and 4 to activate both pickups simultaneously.
Which poles would I connect to eachother? I perfer to make 2 and 4 quiet? Could that be done?
bmedeiros678 is offline  
post #5 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-18-2008, 09:41 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: South West UK
Posts: 953
Re: 5-way switch wired as a 3-way

Ok I looked at http://www.jemsite.com/forums/showthread.php?t=70571 and if you wire the Bridge to what I've called A and the Neck to what I've called C and then D to the volume control (it probably already is) with nothing else connected that will give you:
1. Bridge
2. Bridge
3. Bridge + Neck
4. Neck
5. Neck
If you also connect Bridge to W and Neck to X and then Z to earth it will short out positions 2 and 4 giving silence for those IF shorting out is ok for active pickups (probably not!).
Jim
BTW. Sorry Crazy_Guitar, the 7620 does NOT have a regular super 5 way!! (The 3 pickup RGs do)

Last edited by Vim Fuego; 02-18-2008 at 09:47 AM. Reason: update
Vim Fuego is offline  
post #6 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-18-2008, 10:18 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: MA
Posts: 45
Re: 5-way switch wired as a 3-way

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vim Fuego View Post
Ok I looked at http://www.jemsite.com/forums/showthread.php?t=70571 and if you wire the Bridge to what I've called A and the Neck to what I've called C and then D to the volume control (it probably already is) with nothing else connected that will give you:
1. Bridge
2. Bridge
3. Bridge + Neck
4. Neck
5. Neck
If you also connect Bridge to W and Neck to X and then Z to earth it will short out positions 2 and 4 giving silence for those IF shorting out is ok for active pickups (probably not!).
Jim
BTW. Sorry Crazy_Guitar, the 7620 does NOT have a regular super 5 way!! (The 3 pickup RGs do)

Thanks. I looked at the link. Is my switch supposed to look like the one you drew? My switch has 8 tabs on one side. I do not know what super switches are but it looks the same as a rg1507L that has 3 pickups on it. Heres a link http://www.ibanez.com/parts/2000_PAR...C5.htm#3PS1SC5


Thanks!
bmedeiros678 is offline  
post #7 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-18-2008, 10:30 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: MA
Posts: 45
Re: 5-way switch wired as a 3-way

I guess I have a megaswitch?
bmedeiros678 is offline  
post #8 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-18-2008, 10:35 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: South West UK
Posts: 953
Re: 5-way switch wired as a 3-way

Yeah, the 8 tabs are the boxes in the diagram labeled
A B C D W X Y Z
Most 5 ways are really 2 switches in one and usually the two sets of 4 poles behave the same (as they do in the 3 pickup RGs) The switch in the 7620 is the SC/2502W and the two sets of poles A B C D and W X Y Z are different.
The Bridge pickup Red Wire should be connected to A to help you identify which is which.
Jim

The switch in your link is the correct one, the diagram is a schematic showing the tracks on the green pcb so I could work out what the switch did! But the tabs are correct the 8 boxes correspond to the 8 tabs.

Last edited by Vim Fuego; 02-18-2008 at 10:37 AM. Reason: update
Vim Fuego is offline  
post #9 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-18-2008, 10:36 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Braga, Portugal
Posts: 1,339
Reviews: 4
Re: 5-way switch wired as a 3-way

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vim Fuego View Post
BTW. Sorry Crazy_Guitar, the 7620 does NOT have a regular super 5 way!! (The 3 pickup RGs do)
I'm almost sure they do!
Otherwise, how would they be able to select neck p.u. paralell on pos.2 and "split center" on pos.4?
Crazy_Guitar is offline  
post #10 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-18-2008, 10:38 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: MA
Posts: 45
Re: 5-way switch wired as a 3-way

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vim Fuego View Post
Yeah, the 8 tabs are the boxes in the diagram labeled
A B C D W X Y Z
Most 5 ways are really 2 switches in one and usually the two sets of 4 poles behave the same (as they do in the 3 pickup RGs) The switch in the 7620 is the SC/2502W and the two sets of poles A B C D and W X Y Z are different.
The Bridge pickup Red Wire should be connected to A to help you identify which is which.
Jim

The switch in your link is the correct one, the diagram is a schematic showing the tracks on the green pcb so I could work out what the switch did! But the tabs are correct the 8 boxes correspond to the 8 tabs.

Thanks for the help Jim!!!!
bmedeiros678 is offline  
post #11 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-18-2008, 10:44 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: South West UK
Posts: 953
Re: 5-way switch wired as a 3-way

Yeah I had the same confusion!!!
The Ibanez SC/2502W is a custom unit that allows the split/series/parallel options. Until I bought a 7620 I couldn't understand how you could get the options you get with an ordinary switch with 8 poles.
In the end I had to trace the circuit on the PCB of the switch to work it out!
You can do it with a VLX91 which is the switch used in the Jems and is similar to a Magaswitch but that has 24 poles!!
I'm sorry I cant remember the number of the other switch Ibanez use that looks the same as the SC/2502W but switches normally and is used in the 3 pickup RGs.
Jim

Reply to Crazy_Guitar
p.s. The "regular" 5 way used in the 3 pickup RGs is
http://www.ibanez.com/parts/2000_PAR....htm#3PS1CGAE5
It looks the same as the one in the 2 pickup models but isn't!!
The VLX91 switch is
http://www.ibanez.com/parts/2000_PAR....htm#3PS1VLX91

Last edited by Vim Fuego; 02-18-2008 at 10:52 AM. Reason: update
Vim Fuego is offline  
post #12 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-18-2008, 10:59 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: MA
Posts: 45
Re: 5-way switch wired as a 3-way

Jim,
If I am reading this right, I would connect the bridge to the first three poles, the neck to the second pole and the volume on all four poles? I wal looking at this wrong, the 1-5 are the positions.

Last edited by bmedeiros678; 02-18-2008 at 11:07 AM. Reason: cause I am an idiot.
bmedeiros678 is offline  
post #13 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-18-2008, 11:13 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: South West UK
Posts: 953
Re: 5-way switch wired as a 3-way

Sorry, for the confusion you need:
Bridge -> First Tab (box A)
Neck -> Third Tab (box C)
Volume Pot -> Fourth Tab (box D)
For reference:
The Bridge red wire should already be connected to Tab 1 (box A)
The Neck red wire should already be connected to Tab 3 (box C)
And the Volume pot should already be connected to Tab 4 (box D)
all the other wires will not be needed with your new pickups.
The switching options will be:
1. Bridge
2. Bridge
3. Bridge + Neck
4. Neck
5. Neck
I don't know the details of the wires for the Blackouts but there should be instructions in the packaging.
Jim
Vim Fuego is offline  
post #14 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-18-2008, 11:30 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: MA
Posts: 45
Re: 5-way switch wired as a 3-way

Ohhh,
Thank you Jim! Boy that was a lot easier than what I was thinking.
bmedeiros678 is offline  
Reply

Tags
bridge pickup , neck pickup , seymour duncan

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to wire up a special 5-way switch? bduersch Pickups & wiring 7 08-15-2006 08:00 AM
YM-50 Switch! Little Fighter Pickups & wiring 3 12-19-2005 03:50 PM
Jpm Switch Observations.... slagaxe Pickups & wiring 2 11-19-2005 11:57 AM
After adding a push/pull switch... cowcowcow Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 3 03-26-2002 07:39 AM
Different 5-way switch - why are they different? cowcowcow Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 7 03-17-2002 02:45 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome