Blackouts modular Preamp? Anyone? - Jemsite
Pickups & wiring Discussion about pickup types, replacements, recomendations, switching, wiring diagrams and sustainer systems for ANY guitar, JEMs included.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-20-2013, 05:22 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Seymour, IN
Posts: 319
Reviews: 7
Blackouts modular Preamp? Anyone?

Anyone try to use a blackouts modular preamp? I have an S series with the V8, V&, and S1 pups.. I wondering if it would work for my guitar?
Thanks
Tim
HoosierDaddy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-20-2013, 05:43 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 9,233
Reviews: 120
Re: Blackouts modular Preamp? Anyone?

It would work, yes, it's designed to work with most passive pickups.
LonePhantom is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-21-2013, 04:16 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 3,155
Re: Blackouts modular Preamp? Anyone?

It's really awesome. In a way it's like having a TS-like overdrive built right into the guitar - and you can get creative and install an on-off switch too so you can use it as a boost.
Petie is offline  
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-21-2013, 07:12 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Seymour, IN
Posts: 319
Reviews: 7
Re: Blackouts modular Preamp? Anyone?

But would it work since I have a single coil. I have a HSH setup? I'll try it if it will. It's cool sounding for sure. I have a blackout in another guitar that just rocks..
Tim
HoosierDaddy is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-21-2013, 04:06 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 9,233
Reviews: 120
Re: Blackouts modular Preamp? Anyone?

There will be a way to make it work. There's enough wires, you just need to choose which wires on the preamp are used for what positions on the pickup selector, then match the pickups to the correct solderless lugs on the pot.
LonePhantom is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-22-2013, 04:51 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Seymour, IN
Posts: 319
Reviews: 7
Re: Blackouts modular Preamp? Anyone?

Thanks so much lone
HoosierDaddy is offline  
Reply

Tags
blackouts

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Modular studio / rehearsal space under construction Lizod Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 16 12-10-2011 06:39 AM
FS: 33 Breath Controller and Clavia Micro Modular Snave Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 2 06-22-2006 02:14 AM
Randall Modular Amps Goozman Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 1 03-08-2005 01:29 PM
Anyone here use the Randall RM4 modular preamp (or the RT2/50)? bduersch Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 3 01-21-2005 12:56 AM
Modular guitar design - Among other things (Rant) Pablo Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 5 04-19-2001 01:07 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome