Blaze or Blaze Custom? - Jemsite
Pickups & wiring Discussion about pickup types, replacements, recomendations, switching, wiring diagrams and sustainer systems for ANY guitar, JEMs included.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-11-2013, 08:03 AM Thread Starter

Blaze or Blaze Custom?

This is my first time looking at 7 string pickups, so I'm a bit lost and could use some advice. I think I've settled on a Blaze arrangement, but can't decide on which bridge I would like more, the regular Blaze or the Blaze Custom?

What's throwing me is that DiMarzio is making it sound like adding the low string would make you want an inherently different pickup. For a 6 string pickup, I'd never buy something with an EQ curve like a Blaze, but the description is making me second guess myself:

Quote:
Originally Posted by DiMarzio
We designed the Blaze™ Bridge Model with a scooped midrange, to keep the low seventh string as bright and open-sounding as possible. Chords are very clean, and even heavy overdrive retains a lot of definition.
That makes complete sense I guess? The Blaze Custom has an EQ curve more like I'm used to and says that it's more of a soloists pickup. But is that what you really want on a 7?

Anyone have experience with both of these pickups?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-11-2013, 08:38 AM

Re: Blaze or Blaze Custom?

I watched a comparison video of the two, and once I have the extra money I'm getting some customs.I think they sounded better imo
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-11-2013, 08:50 AM

I own both-
I have the Blaze in my UVMC, Herc UVMC and my UVGR
Blaze Custon in my UV777PBK
EVO 7 in my PWH and my Black RG7620
Crunch Lab in my Silver RG7620

I'll pull them out and try tham side-by-side, it's been awhile.

Last edited by sebastian; 06-11-2013 at 09:02 AM.
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-11-2013, 09:25 AM

Okay, I tried them side-by-side.