Dimarzio Evolution (bridge) VS. INF 2 - Jemsite
Pickups & wiring Discussion about pickup types, replacements, recomendations, switching, wiring diagrams and sustainer systems for ANY guitar, JEMs included.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 29 (permalink) Old 06-19-2011, 08:58 PM Thread Starter

Dimarzio Evolution (bridge) VS. INF 2

Just curious if you guys could give me some input on the bridge version of a Dimazio EVO compared to an INF2, how much better is it?? and what are some sound pros/cons of both?
I really like the sound of my INF, except for some lack in "punch"...I just don't know if I want to install the evo I spent the last of my money on, and come to decide that $90 wasn't worth it; seeing as I can't return it after I install.

Also I am a rhythm guitarist 95% of the time..I have been hearing this is not a good rhythm pickup, how true is this statement??

Last edited by erikheffner; 06-19-2011 at 09:11 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 29 (permalink) Old 06-21-2011, 10:24 AM

Reviews: 11
Re: Dimarzio Evolution (bridge) VS. INF 2

infinity pickups are pretty much crap. Virtually anything after market will be a huge improvement. You want punch? Check out d-activators, super distortion or tone zone by dimarzio. Evo's are kind of brittle sounding, very high output and "thinner" sounding, better for lead styles. r
post #3 of 29 (permalink) Old 06-21-2011, 02:57 PM

Tone Zone all the way.

Evos are for Vai wanna be's.
post #4 of 29 (permalink) Old 06-21-2011, 03:33 PM

Reviews: 1

I also like the Super 3
[/I]
post #5 of 29 (permalink) Old 07-03-2011, 06:39 PM Thread Starter

hmmm interesting thoughts.
thing is too, I like a "thinner" more hallow sound even as a rhythm guitarist, just a punchy thin sound, not so much bass...if that makes sense.. and a real high output is what I prefer as well, thats why I figured an evo or Evo 2 would be good.