Does anyone have a wiring diag for a SV5470J? - Jemsite
Pickups & wiring Discussion about pickup types, replacements, recomendations, switching, wiring diagrams and sustainer systems for ANY guitar, JEMs included.

 3Likes
  • 1 Post By stratotizer
  • 1 Post By stratotizer
  • 1 Post By stratotizer
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-29-2020, 08:25 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 9
Does anyone have a wiring diag for a SV5470J?

Hello
Does anyone have a wiring diag for a SV5470J?
I checked the Ibanez site and it seems this guitar is older and
is not shown on their site.

Thanks for any help!
stratotizer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-30-2020, 12:32 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Kansas
Posts: 2,111
Re: Does anyone have a wiring diag for a SV5470J?

Quote:
Originally Posted by stratotizer View Post
Hello
Does anyone have a wiring diag for a SV5470J?
I checked the Ibanez site and it seems this guitar is older and
is not shown on their site.

Thanks for any help!

Are you sure about the model number? Is it an S5470?
FireEagle is offline  
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-30-2020, 02:02 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 9
Re: Does anyone have a wiring diag for a SV5470J?

Hello
Thanks for responding so quickly. The seller told me the p/u's are from a SV5470J and I see it
is a real guitar model but now I see from you there is a S5470 also.

I'll search for wiring for a S5470 maybe that will turn up something.

Thanks!
stratotizer is offline  
post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-01-2020, 11:06 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 9
Re: Does anyone have a wiring diag for a SV5470J?

Not sure if I should have started a new post but here is the wiring I have so far.

I omitted for the input jack but I do have it.
Sorry for the crude drawing.
There is no output and I only check that by touching the strings to the poles and I get nothing.
I wanted to use a fender 5 way switch but it bottoms out and I didn't want to shave out any from the bottom. I guess I could if I had to.

I likely have some errors with my wiring. Please take a look.
Thank you
Attached Images
File Type: png my schematic 2.png (247.4 KB, 15 views)
stratotizer is offline  
post #5 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-01-2020, 01:41 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 105
Is the 3rd pot a tone as well?

I don't see a lable on it.
KennyV is offline  
post #6 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-01-2020, 03:24 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Kansas
Posts: 2,111
Re: Does anyone have a wiring diag for a SV5470J?

The S5470 only has a master tone, master volume, and 5-way switch... unless someone added another pot. Do you have a picture of the guitar?


Here is the standard Ibanez HSH with 5 way wiring... https://forum.seymourduncan.com/atta...4&d=1492545709


Edit - I finally found some info on the SV series: https://ibanez.fandom.com/wiki/Portal:SV_series

Not sure on your particular model SV5470J, I don't see it listed. Lots of different pickup combinations on the various models.

Last edited by FireEagle; 07-01-2020 at 03:42 PM. Reason: more info
FireEagle is offline  
post #7 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-01-2020, 06:06 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 9
Re: Does anyone have a wiring diag for a SV5470J?

Hello thanks for the response

Sorry I should have been more clear. This guitar is one that I am building it's a strat style with 1 vol and 2 tones.

I asked for the SV5470J wiring because the pickups are from this model. Only the pups are from the Ibanez model
FireEagle likes this.
stratotizer is offline  
post #8 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-01-2020, 09:44 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 9
Re: Does anyone have a wiring diag for a SV5470J?

Thanks for the links I think the two are the same. Anyway, I can try to go with a master vol and tone.
It looks like the white/black are not just tied off like i have them. They are going to the 1st and 3rd lugs from the right on the switch

I believe the green will be subbed for my blue if that makes sense.

I need to get a proper value for my cap(s) I just had a .001uf lying around just to try and get this going.

Thanks again I appreciate the input!
FireEagle likes this.
stratotizer is offline  
post #9 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-01-2020, 09:50 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by stratotizer View Post
Thanks for the links I think the two are the same. Anyway, I can try to go with a master vol and tone.
It looks like the white/black are not just tied off like i have them. They are going to the 1st and 3rd lugs from the right on the switch

I believe the green will be subbed for my blue if that makes sense.

I need to get a proper value for my cap(s) I just had a .001uf lying around just to try and get this going.

Thanks again I appreciate the input!
Knowing that it's a vol/tone/tone makes it a bit easier. Do you happen to know the pickups wire idea your using?

Or did you take a template online?

If you can give me the wire code I can help you with your diagram.
KennyV is offline  
post #10 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-02-2020, 10:52 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 9
Re: Does anyone have a wiring diag for a SV5470J?

Hello and thanks again for responding

For the wire code I went with this ... as attached

In the link diagram you gave it shows the switch having a black lead marked to bridge ground and right below it is another black lead that looks like it is looped back from the switch. Not sure how either of those work or what it means "To bridge ground".

I don't see a lug on the switch that they go to unless they are just going to ground on the switch and they diagrammed it this way because it's too busy of a picture. But, the wire that is looping back to the switch if it was going to ground I would think it would just go to the 5th lug that is gnd lug I believe.

I guess I don't know much
Attached Images
File Type: png Ibanez wire code.PNG (30.0 KB, 8 views)
stratotizer is offline  
post #11 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-02-2020, 12:30 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Kansas
Posts: 2,111
Re: Does anyone have a wiring diag for a SV5470J?

Quote:
Originally Posted by stratotizer View Post
Hello and thanks again for responding

For the wire code I went with this ... as attached

In the link diagram you gave it shows the switch having a black lead marked to bridge ground and right below it is another black lead that looks like it is looped back from the switch. Not sure how either of those work or what it means "To bridge ground".

I don't see a lug on the switch that they go to unless they are just going to ground on the switch and they diagrammed it this way because it's too busy of a picture. But, the wire that is looping back to the switch if it was going to ground I would think it would just go to the 5th lug that is gnd lug I believe.

I guess I don't know much

The "bridge ground" in the diagram is just the ground wire that goes to the "bridge" of the guitar, not the bridge pickup. Guitars with a tremolo will often be grounded through the spring claw in the back of the guitar. This is just to keep your bridge/springs/strings from acting like an antenna and picking up electrical noise. The other ground wire that is shown looping to the switch is just to ground out the metal cover on the switch, for the same noise control reasons as the bridge ground. The volume and tone pots will also have grounding wires running to them, then all will be grounded back to the ground of the guitar's jack.


Guitar wiring can get confusing, mostly in the switching aspects... but it not really too complicated. Take your time, you want nice shiny solder connections, keep the tip of the soldering iron clean, and make sure you have all of the grounds attached to the backs of the pots, switches, bridge, etc. You'll get it!!
FireEagle is offline  
post #12 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-02-2020, 12:45 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 9
Re: Does anyone have a wiring diag for a SV5470J?

Thank you for the reply

I understand the need for grounding but by looking at the diag I don't understand where on the switch the wires are to be soldered to for the grounds. These two are shown going to the side of the switch. The switch I have doesn't have any lugs on it's side.

I wonder if I can skip the wire to ground the switch since I used copper tape all through the cavity to create a Faraday Cage I believe it would be grounded from the tape.

Maybe I should have mentioned I copper taped the pickguard and the main cavity as well as the cavity for the input jack. And I ran a wire connecting the two. It measured very small ohms with a volt meter.

Thanks again for taking the time!
FireEagle likes this.
stratotizer is offline  
post #13 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-02-2020, 12:56 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 105
Switches on their own don't actually need to be groundedto function. Some like to ground them, but I never have.

It's easiest to have grounds "flow" in on direction though, makes it cleaner to follow and sometimes has a better result.

For example.

*All pots are self grounded to tops.
*Pickups grounded to volume (farthest away from jack)

*Connect volume ground to first time ground (getting closer to jack)

*Connect tone 1 ground to tone 2 ground (even closer to jack)

*Connect tone 2 to output jack.

That way all the grounding will flow out in 1 way.
As for the ground wire from the bridge (ex tremolo claw) it can be grounded where ever alone the way out, but may as well be the volume pot since it's already got the pickups in it too.


*******

Now for the switches to be in the off position, or even perform a coil split, sometimes they ground a lug in the configuration to kill the current in that pickup. But that's different then grounding the switch.
KennyV is offline  
post #14 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-02-2020, 02:32 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 9
Re: Does anyone have a wiring diag for a SV5470J?

Very interesting perspective I like the flow idea and believe it would make it easier to troubleshoot as well.

As for now I just want to get this working and may in the future do more mods like coil splitting.

Referring back to an earlier post I think I can do without the two wires to the switch I had questioned about since I have a gnd from the claw to a pot and the switch should be grounded from the copper tape.

So I'll go ahead and follow the schematic with a mater vol and tone.

Thanks again for the input!
stratotizer is offline  
post #15 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-02-2020, 03:49 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 105
Sometimes you just have to get it working and then fix it later.

Hope you get it going!
KennyV is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome