EMGs in a RGT220A - Jemsite
Pickups & wiring Discussion about pickup types, replacements, recomendations, switching, wiring diagrams and sustainer systems for ANY guitar, JEMs included.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 10-24-2009, 02:37 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 129
EMGs in a RGT220A

Hello,

I read somwhere that EMGs cant be just dropped in this guitar w/out routing. is this true?
j.t..i. is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 10-24-2009, 02:47 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: North Platte, NE
Posts: 735
Re: EMGs in a RGT220A

I would think not, as the EMGs have a sqruare tab for the screws and the cavities in the 220A are not square. But I have not tried, so I could be wrong.
jallen is offline  
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 10-24-2009, 02:50 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 129
Re: EMGs in a RGT220A

the other post a read also said that the cavity was not deep enough for EMG


Quote:
Originally Posted by jallen View Post
I would think not, as the EMGs have a sqruare tab for the screws and the cavities in the 220A are not square. But I have not tried, so I could be wrong.
j.t..i. is offline  
post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old 10-24-2009, 03:17 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 105
Reviews: 3
Re: EMGs in a RGT220A

Actually a friend of mine tried it in a RG1570 not RGT220A but I guess both have the same cavity and it did fit hardly. I think we pressed it down hardly to fit. but it was somehow popping up close to the strings. They don't look good at all without a mounting ring IMHO..

That doesn't mean it may fit in a RGT220A.. I could be wrong.

I don't recommend to do this, so in a brief, It won't fit..

Last edited by Yamadron; 10-24-2009 at 03:23 PM.
Yamadron is offline  
post #5 of 16 (permalink) Old 10-25-2009, 03:04 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 129
Re: EMGs in a RGT220A

Quote:
Originally Posted by jallen View Post
I would think not, as the EMGs have a sqruare tab for the screws and the cavities in the 220A are not square. But I have not tried, so I could be wrong.
if that was the only problem, couldnt I just file the tab to fit?

About the mounting ring. I've seen some guitars that look ok w/out. Like the new one for 2009, the RG3520ZE. I like it.

I would really like to put EMGs in this axe, and Ive already got them here. If the cavity is too shallow, F it. I'll get something else...
j.t..i. is offline  
post #6 of 16 (permalink) Old 10-25-2009, 02:35 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 105
Reviews: 3
Re: EMGs in a RGT220A

You didn't read my post carefully.

but it was somehow popping up close to the strings = Shallow

and the sound was not good at all as they were close to the strings.
Yamadron is offline  
post #7 of 16 (permalink) Old 10-26-2009, 12:33 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 129
Re: EMGs in a RGT220A

I read what you posted. You seemed uncertain about them fitting in a completely different guitar.

I appreciate your input though.




Quote:
Originally Posted by Yamadron View Post
You didn't read my post carefully.

but it was somehow popping up close to the strings = Shallow

and the sound was not good at all as they were close to the strings.
j.t..i. is offline  
post #8 of 16 (permalink) Old 10-26-2009, 05:04 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 105
Reviews: 3
Re: EMGs in a RGT220A

No problems

I didn't mean any offence though
Yamadron is offline  
post #9 of 16 (permalink) Old 10-26-2009, 05:19 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 129
Re: EMGs in a RGT220A

I wished I was more of a techie. I would just try it, but Ive never installed pickups in a guitar. Ive always had a local luthier do the work for me.
j.t..i. is offline  
post #10 of 16 (permalink) Old 10-26-2009, 06:25 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 105
Reviews: 3
Re: EMGs in a RGT220A

I don't think that you may waste money to buy EMGs then try to install them and find out that they are not fitting in the first place.. Ask the Luther. He might know
Yamadron is offline  
post #11 of 16 (permalink) Old 10-27-2009, 01:46 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 129
Re: EMGs in a RGT220A

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yamadron View Post
I don't think that you may waste money to buy EMGs then try to install them and find out that they are not fitting in the first place.. Ask the Luther. He might know
I already have the EMGs here. Bought them for a different guitar, but decided to keep the stock p-ups in that particular guitar.
j.t..i. is offline  
post #12 of 16 (permalink) Old 10-28-2009, 11:07 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Warsaw
Posts: 275
Re: EMGs in a RGT220A

RGT220 is such a sweet guitar; don't torture it with EMGs. if you want BrEWtalz, there are tons of options from passive pickup makers - no mods required.
LowYaw is offline  
post #13 of 16 (permalink) Old 10-30-2009, 09:52 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 129
Re: EMGs in a RGT220A

Quote:
Originally Posted by LowYaw View Post
RGT220 is such a sweet guitar; don't torture it with EMGs. if you want BrEWtalz, there are tons of options from passive pickup makers - no mods required.
wha? I'm not modifying this guitar for any pickups. I sure did want these EMGs in it though.

Strange they wont fit though. BS!
j.t..i. is offline  
post #14 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-04-2009, 04:24 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 129
Re: EMGs in a RGT220A

Alright, being as i'm not altering the guitar for pickups, are there any other pickups that wont fit? I'm thinking PAF Pro in the bridge pos. and undecided on the neck pickup. I'm thinking Hum from hell. I want something that sounds good in single coil mode for the neck p-up.

recommendations are welcomed. I'm pretty set on the PAF Pro on the bridge though.

I'm actually kinda glad they wont fit now that i think about it. I want more versatility in this guitar. Both pickups coil split.
j.t..i. is offline  
post #15 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-04-2009, 05:54 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Brampton, ON Canada
Posts: 553
Re: EMGs in a RGT220A

Go to your local guitar shop and ask to see an EMG pickup and bring tape measure - simple.
guitvai1 is offline  
Reply

Tags
rgt220a emg

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NGD RGT220a Zgicc All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 17 12-02-2009 09:07 PM
Looking for RGT220A j.t..i. Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 0 10-22-2009 06:26 PM
Anyone have a RGT220A? Robstar All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 4 07-24-2008 11:39 AM
My RGT220A :D:D:D (Pics!) groz All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 14 05-24-2008 07:14 PM
RGT220H vs RGT220A _vaister_ All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 17 07-11-2006 10:22 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome