F2 not giving me enough presence - Jemsite
Pickups & wiring Discussion about pickup types, replacements, recomendations, switching, wiring diagrams and sustainer systems for ANY guitar, JEMs included.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-19-2013, 11:45 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 157
Reviews: 1
F2 not giving me enough presence

After playing my UCRG1 (with an F2, C3 and F4) along with the rest of the band for the first time, I was disappointed to discover that the F2 doesn't cut through the mix as much as I would like it too. I love the way they sound but it's just too hard to hear over the rest of the band. I've played my RG550 with a set of Evos with the exact same amp/pedals and it does a wonderful job of cutting through the mix (but then again, they're Evos. Of course they do.) I've got some big gigs coming up next weekend and I would like to fix this issue before then.

Any suggestions for a bridge pickup that sounds similar to the F2 but with more presence? I've heard that the Gravity Storm is pretty similar, but since I already have Evo's in my other RG, I'd prefer to have a non-Vai sound in this guitar.
kfm946 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-20-2013, 12:06 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 9,233
Reviews: 120
Re: F2 not giving me enough presence

DiMarzio Dominion. If that doesn't cut through I don't know what will!
LonePhantom is offline  
post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-20-2013, 12:21 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Adelaide , Australia
Posts: 1,297
Re: F2 not giving me enough presence

Just eq in the extra at the amp....2 notches should be all that's needed.
corey j grieve is offline  
post #4 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-20-2013, 12:51 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Baytown
Posts: 153
Re: F2 not giving me enough presence

If you like the sound--adjust your EQ and level. Let your amp do the work.
GodzillaPopcicle is offline  
post #5 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-20-2013, 01:50 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 157
Reviews: 1
Re: F2 not giving me enough presence

I tried a bit, but I couldn't seem to get it The amp doesn't have a presence control. Presence lies mostly in treble and mids right? (At least for soloing)
kfm946 is offline  
post #6 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-20-2013, 01:53 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 9,233
Reviews: 120
Re: F2 not giving me enough presence

Definitely give the Dominion a go then
LonePhantom is offline  
post #7 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-20-2013, 02:05 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 157
Reviews: 1
Re: F2 not giving me enough presence

Quote:
Originally Posted by LonePhantom View Post
Definitely give the Dominion a go then
Does it sound similar to the F2? If not, what's it like?
kfm946 is offline  
post #8 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-20-2013, 02:38 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: indonesia
Posts: 2,556
Re: F2 not giving me enough presence

Quote:
Originally Posted by kfm946 View Post
Does it sound similar to the F2? If not, what's it like?
F2 with steroid?
psychoshredder is offline  
post #9 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-20-2013, 04:54 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 9,233
Reviews: 120
Re: F2 not giving me enough presence

Probably!

Yeah, it's kind of like a sharper F2. I consider the Dominion the Tone Zone perfected for basswood. The F2 is similar to the Tone Zone too, so yeah you'll dig it I reckon.
LonePhantom is offline  
post #10 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-20-2013, 06:21 PM
 
RGTFanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: New Lenox, IL-USA
Posts: 10,116
Reviews: 2
Re: F2 not giving me enough presence

Can I assume that you have not adjusted the poles on the F2? These are VERY sensitive pickups. If you like the tone your getting from it, adjust the poles and pickup height to suit you presence needs. The F2 is a remarkably good pickup when adjusted properly. The only thing I've noticed about them is that some are lacking in low to low-mid response. This can always be fixed by adjusting the poles.
RGTFanatic is offline  
post #11 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-20-2013, 06:29 PM
 
RGTFanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: New Lenox, IL-USA
Posts: 10,116
Reviews: 2
Re: F2 not giving me enough presence

BTW... For a new pickup, I agree that the Dominion set will be a good match, but not the same.
RGTFanatic is offline  
post #12 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-20-2013, 07:16 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 9,233
Reviews: 120
Re: F2 not giving me enough presence

Quote:
Originally Posted by RGTFanatic View Post
Can I assume that you have not adjusted the poles on the F2? These are VERY sensitive pickups. If you like the tone your getting from it, adjust the poles and pickup height to suit you presence needs. The F2 is a remarkably good pickup when adjusted properly. The only thing I've noticed about them is that some are lacking in low to low-mid response. This can always be fixed by adjusting the poles.
Ah, I was just about to come back and mention this!
LonePhantom is offline  
post #13 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-20-2013, 10:57 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 157
Reviews: 1
Re: F2 not giving me enough presence

Quote:
Originally Posted by RGTFanatic View Post
Can I assume that you have not adjusted the poles on the F2? These are VERY sensitive pickups. If you like the tone your getting from it, adjust the poles and pickup height to suit you presence needs. The F2 is a remarkably good pickup when adjusted properly. The only thing I've noticed about them is that some are lacking in low to low-mid response. This can always be fixed by adjusting the poles.
Good point!! I usually do that to my pickups, I just got this one together and working, so I haven't yet. I'll do that and let you know how it works! thanks!
kfm946 is offline  
post #14 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-21-2013, 12:43 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Baytown
Posts: 153
Re: F2 not giving me enough presence

Quote:
Originally Posted by RGTFanatic View Post
Can I assume that you have not adjusted the poles on the F2? These are VERY sensitive pickups. If you like the tone your getting from it, adjust the poles and pickup height to suit you presence needs. The F2 is a remarkably good pickup when adjusted properly. The only thing I've noticed about them is that some are lacking in low to low-mid response. This can always be fixed by adjusting the poles.
I second this, and it's what I was referring to.
If you like the sound--fibd a way to make it cut through.

You could also try a boost pedal.
I have to use one on guitars with vintage or medium output to keep from having to adjust my amp settings between guitars.
I already have a sound I love, but want to keep it set for all guitars.
I always let my amp do the work.
In fact--I'm starting to get away from high output pickups. You lose your amp's natural qualities if it's slammed with high output pickups.
GodzillaPopcicle is offline  
post #15 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-21-2013, 01:49 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 157
Reviews: 1
Re: F2 not giving me enough presence

Quote:
Originally Posted by GodzillaPopcicle View Post
You could also try a boost pedal.
I have to use one on guitars with vintage or medium output to keep from having to adjust my amp settings between guitars.
I already have a sound I love, but want to keep it set for all guitars.
I always let my amp do the work.
In fact--I'm starting to get away from high output pickups. You lose your amp's natural qualities if it's slammed with high output pickups.
I'll definitely get one at some point, unfortunately right now when i'm gigging, I'm limited to only bringing my multi-effects board. And yes, I do back off on the volume pedal and crank it when I have a solo, but oddly that doesn't always seem to help. It's more a matter of presence than of volume.
kfm946 is offline  
Reply

Tags
bridge pickup , presence

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
treble/presence issue with valveking 212 ozzuk Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 3 08-02-2012 01:59 PM
[YouTube] In the Presence of Enemies, intro + solo <- me Rachmaninoff Players & Bands, Music & Sounds, Tours & Jams, Lessons & Theory! 4 04-25-2009 02:04 PM
Me playing - In the Presence Of Enemies Pt.1 (Solo) Epicus Furor Players & Bands, Music & Sounds, Tours & Jams, Lessons & Theory! 6 08-19-2007 06:45 PM
Legacy head presence knob kubusiu Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 1 08-04-2002 09:23 AM
What does PRESENCE knob set? - Amp ignorance is my REAL draw Kramom Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 4 03-26-2001 05:01 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome