How hard is it to replace a magnet??? - Jemsite
Pickups & wiring Discussion about pickup types, replacements, recomendations, switching, wiring diagrams and sustainer systems for ANY guitar, JEMs included.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 02-17-2004, 01:15 PM Thread Starter

How hard is it to replace a magnet???

Well how hard is it. I would love to try the new Paf joe in the bridge position with an Alnico 5 magnet. I am no expert on pickups (more of an amp man myself ). So:
1) How hard is it??
2) Would I need to rewind the pickup afterwards??
3) Is it worth the hassle???

Freak
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 02-17-2004, 02:48 PM

Re: How hard is it to replace a magnet???

Quote:
Originally Posted by power freak

Well how hard is it. I would love to try the new Paf joe in the bridge position with an Alnico 5 magnet. I am no expert on pickups (more of an amp man myself ). So:
1) How hard is it??
3) Is it worth the hassle???

Freak
It's not hard, just pay attention to what's touching what and where the magnetic polarities are when you're disassembling the thing.

No, you needn't rewind.

It CAN be worth it, especially if you know what you're going for.

I turned an F2 into a "dualtone" style pup, replacing the screws with Alnico 5 rod polepieces (to make splitting sound better). They didn't fit very well, so I had to gap fill with wax, but it worked pretty well. I also moved the magnet under the bobbins. It definitely works better split, though I don't like it as much as a bucker now.

edited for accuracy: I used alnico RODS, not BARS
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 02-17-2004, 03:47 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by power freak
1) How hard is it??
if you're talking about replacing the bar magnet underneath the coils, it's not that hard, and you don't need [and wouldn't want to] rewind the pickup, but you should be really careful about a few things.