Ibanez Stock 5-way vs Dimarzio's Diagram?? Help?! - Jemsite
Pickups & wiring Discussion about pickup types, replacements, recomendations, switching, wiring diagrams and sustainer systems for ANY guitar, JEMs included.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 03-27-2006, 09:34 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 20
Ibanez Stock 5-way vs Dimarzio's Diagram?? Help?!

Hi guys. I got my tone zone and paf pro finally. My pickguard (custom one, shell pink from pickguardparadise.com, great guys to deal with!), is all set up with everything, the pickups, controls, 5-way switch. Everything is good to go and then I went to solder (the diagram looked simple), but realized that the stock switch is different than what Dimarzio uses for an example. I don't want to buy another switch so does anyone know how to match up the wires?

The diagram is here
http://www.dimarzio.com/media/diagrams/C.pdf

There are 5 solder points on the top part, then 3 underneath, but on mine there are 8 in a row.

Thanks for any help!
torque is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 03-27-2006, 10:25 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 20
Re: Ibanez Stock 5-way vs Dimarzio's Diagram?? Help?!

Here is the Ibanez diagram.

http://www.ibanez.com/wiring/wire.asp?y=2004&w=RG350DX

I'm not an eletrician or anything, I just play guitar, lol. If any of you guys could help me out with how to match up the wires for the 5-way switch it'd be greatly appreciated. The wires on my Dimarzios are obviously different than the stock Ibanez ones which is what is leaving me puzzled right now.

Thanks in advance.


Edit: Just a bit more info. The Ibanez diagram shows my middle pickup as having a thick wire just like the humbuckers, with a bunch of smaller ones (white, red, and I assume the grey one is bare?). It only has 2 single wires, black and white.
torque is offline  
post #3 of 3 (permalink) Old 03-28-2006, 11:21 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,469
Re: Ibanez Stock 5-way vs Dimarzio's Diagram?? Help?!

Email [email protected] and ask them to send you a diagram for how to wire dimarzios on the stock switch. They sent me one for an RG320 and it worked just fine.
lyconxero is offline  
Reply

Tags
paf pro , tone zone

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing pickups on Ibanez RG 55O - Dimarzios or Duncans? Economista Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 14 05-06-2011 10:22 PM
Leaving Ibanez guitars - No more jems for me jem7pbk Ibanez JEM, UV, JS & Other Signature Models 141 12-11-2010 07:16 PM
Important Ibanez Issue : Stock Pickups ATE-Fred Comments to Ibanez 0 07-07-2004 09:50 AM
Ibanez J-Custom & Prestige Overview and F.A.Q. jemsite All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 0 05-16-2002 12:48 AM
Has the quality level increased or decreased? - Ibanez throu Mirrored CAT Ibanez JEM, UV, JS & Other Signature Models 53 06-11-2001 09:54 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome