Just rewired guitar, didn't work. - Jemsite
Pickups & wiring Discussion about pickup types, replacements, recomendations, switching, wiring diagrams and sustainer systems for ANY guitar, JEMs included.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-19-2003, 10:25 PM Thread Starter

Just rewired guitar, didn't work.

I checked all the connections to make sure everything was connected properly, but no go. My solder joints were rather sloppy, but I made sure no solder was short circuiting anything, which it wasn't. I used 60/40 or 40/60 rosin core solder, and 20 gauge stranded copper wire. Any ideas what might be the problem? I'm fairly new with this kinda stuff.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-20-2003, 03:16 AM

First, I would check for "cold solder joints." This can happen if the solder cools too quickly or doesn't really get hot enough to begin with. They're easily noticed if the solder looks really cloudy. Second, I would check for inadvertent ground connections. Sometimes, the case of a pot or some other hardware may be in contact with one of the hot wires.
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-20-2003, 08:15 AM

Re: Just rewired guitar, didn't work.

Quote:
Originally Posted by guitarkatana
I checked all the connections to make sure everything was connected properly, but no go. My solder joints were rather sloppy, but I made sure no solder was short circuiting anything, which it wasn't. I used 60/40 or 40/60 rosin core solder, and 20 gauge stranded copper wire. Any ideas what might be the problem?