kill switch - Jemsite
Pickups & wiring Discussion about pickup types, replacements, recomendations, switching, wiring diagrams and sustainer systems for ANY guitar, JEMs included.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 01-24-2004, 04:02 PM Thread Starter

kill switch

I'm going to be doing something like this in my guitars soon:

http://www.ibanez.com/wiring/wire.asp?y=2002&w=PGM30

Basically, 2 HB, 1 SC, the switch and a volume knob. What i'd like to add, though, is a "kill switch" somewhere which will break the guitar circuit completely.. an "on/off" switch if you will.

Now, i'm just starting out on this stuff, so i need advice as to where to put in the signal. My guess would be to put a switch on one of the wires going between the output jack and the pot. Thoughts? Can anyone also recommend a switch i could use for this, preferably *small* and easily obtained, like at Radio Shack.

Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 01-24-2004, 07:37 PM

You would put the switch between the volume pot and the output jack in the signal line. I assume you're looking for a switch that would not be noisy when switching, but I don't know of any that are perfect.
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 01-24-2004, 07:44 PM
site founder 0% owner

Reviews: 1
i have this which needs to go the tech section...

wire an on/off switch into a JEM - cut the wire that goes into the volume pot from the 5way switch. Simply put the mini toggle in line and leave one pole open. If you get noise (which you shouldn't) solder a ground wire from the volume pot to the side of the switch...
post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 01-24-2004, 09:56 PM Thread Starter

Quote:
...the wire that goes into the volume pot from the 5way switch