My Custom DiMarzios Just Arrived! - Jemsite
Pickups & wiring Discussion about pickup types, replacements, recomendations, switching, wiring diagrams and sustainer systems for ANY guitar, JEMs included.

7Likes
  • 4 Post By webmaestro
  • 1 Post By Rich
  • 2 Post By webmaestro

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-28-2018, 08:44 PM Thread Starter

My Custom DiMarzios Just Arrived!

A little backstory first:

I've been nagging DiMarzio for a couple years now... asking if they'll make me a one-off set of 7-string DiMarzios with the chrome tops. More specifically, I wanted chrome tops on an Illuminator 7 bridge and Ionizer 7 neck.

They've always written back to me saying, flatly, "no."

They just don't offer any of their 7-string pups with the chrome tops, except for very special cases (ex: artists/LACS, and the UV77-SVR). The rest of us are out of luck. Same goes for gold-topped 7-string pups.

This year I got to go to NAMM for the first time, and I figured I'd take the opportunity to bug DiMarzio about this again, but this time face-to-face at their booth. To my utter astonishment, they didn't even hesitate and said "sure, we'll do custom chrome tops for you. Come sit down over here and we'll take your info."

Yesterday, these babies arrived...

I can't wait to put them in my RGD3127, which is white and already has chrome hardware. More chrome!

It's interesting: When I was just some faceless customer sending emails, they said no. But I walk into their booth at NAMM and suddenly I'm somebody. I guess that's what they call "the NAMM effect."
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-28-2018, 08:49 PM
Vendor

Re: My Custom DiMarzios Just Arrived!

It's easy to say no to an email. Who could say no to a face like that?
froctavio likes this.
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-01-2018, 01:30 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by webmaestro View Post
A little backstory first: