New Jemsite poster, looking for RG reccomendation - Jemsite
Pickups & wiring Discussion about pickup types, replacements, recomendations, switching, wiring diagrams and sustainer systems for ANY guitar, JEMs included.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 04-26-2005, 04:45 AM Thread Starter
kbh

Question New Jemsite poster, looking for RG reccomendation

Hello Jemsiters, whats happening? I'm pretty new to jemsite, but have been researching and decided on an RG guitar upgrade, and here she is:

she's an RG470 from '01 i think

now, I've been playing with it for a good month now, learning a couple "virtuoso" style songs (Steve Vai's K'm-Pee-Du-Wee and Glasgow Kiss from John Petrucci's new solo album) and i am throughly disappointed in the v7/v8 stock pickups and am looking to go for a Dimarzio upgrade.
Now i have no clue as to what i want, as Dimarzio seems to steel at least 30 different pickups altogether, and i really have no way of knowing what is right for me. i was thinking i would just go with a pair of Evolutions because Ibanez stocks jems with em so why not?
i Also know that the lo-trs trem on it is an accident waiting to happen, but I'm not having any trouble so far with it, and it seems to be biting into my string ends fairly well so far, but if it gives me any trouble I'll upgrade to an OFR in a snap .
now, I'll probably get the option for the colored pickups, any nifty suggestions for colors? i was thinking either the light blue, purple, or green.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 (permalink) Old 04-26-2005, 05:40 AM

Re: New Jemsite poster, looking for RG reccomendation

Your pickup choice should based on what kind of sound you are looking, a great combo IMHIO is the Tone Zone + the Air Norton.

Regards

André

post #3 of 19 (permalink) Old 04-26-2005, 10:08 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by kbh