Norton pickup article - Jemsite
Pickups & wiring Discussion about pickup types, replacements, recomendations, switching, wiring diagrams and sustainer systems for ANY guitar, JEMs included.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 09-10-2013, 03:05 PM Thread Starter

Norton pickup article

I recently saw this article

http://www.jemsite.com/blog/the-story-of-norton/

I've been using a Norton/Air Norton combo on my guitars since 2005/06. I had a mahogany S series with them in it, and a RG Prestige. The guitar doesn't have to be mahogany OR set neck for the Norton to sound great. And it IS very versatile. Not so hot that the cleans suffer, and not so weak that it takes a lot to get a good O/D sound. Plus it has those harmonics that jump out at you like the Fred.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 09-10-2013, 03:28 PM

Re: Norton pickup article

I think the title "Story of Norton" is a bit misleading. It didn't say at all where the name Norton came from and was essentially little more than an extremely flowery way of saying exactly what DiMarzio says on their website about this pickup.

I actually just pulled a Norton from my mahogany RG8670. I too am a big fan of Neal Schon but I didn't really care for the Norton in that guitar. I felt that the highs were just too rolled off compared with the other frequencies. I've replaced it with a FRED, but I'm going to try the Norton in a basswood guitar.
post #3 of 22 (permalink) Old 09-10-2013, 03:29 PM Thread Starter

It "sings" more than it "bites" I like that.
post #4 of 22 (permalink) Old 09-10-2013, 03:39 PM

Didn't like air-norton so after I half-aired my tonezone I used the metal spacer to half-air the air-norton.

Metal spacer on screws, bright sound and gets thick (petrucci mode as I guess, it what I use now) when metal spacer used on the nail ones. If not half-air (magnet touching the poles) this effects dynamic responce and results in-between tone.