Pickup cavity depth - Jemsite
Pickups & wiring Discussion about pickup types, replacements, recomendations, switching, wiring diagrams and sustainer systems for ANY guitar, JEMs included.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 08-11-2003, 03:39 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 32
Pickup cavity depth

I was just about to wire some new pickups into my Ibanez RG7421 and noticed that even with the thinner foam on the base of the pickup, they are still sitting high in their cavities.

The pickups are Dimarzios, a Blaze Bridge and an Air Norton 7. Has anyone retro-fitted the pickups in their fixed bridge Ibanez and if so, did you need to rout the pickup cavities deeper?

It would be great if someone could also check and see what the cavity depth is in a RG7621 as I believe these have DiMarzios as standard. The depth in my RG is 17mm.

As ever, all help is much appreciated.
RichardoUK is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 08-12-2003, 08:51 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Virginia, USA
Posts: 363
you shouldn't need to rout the cavity for DiMarzios. have you tried screwing the mounting screws in deeper to compress the foam and lower the pickup? the screws are what really controls the pickup height, the foam thickness is secondary and just keeps tension on the screws like a spring.
Scott of Actual Time is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 08-12-2003, 11:03 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: California
Posts: 1,895
Sometimes the pickup is an acceptable thickness but the pole pieces are touching. In that case, even if you're not experienced with a router, you can drill 6 or 12 (depending on the number of pole pieces that go through) with a 1/4" drill bit. Drill them real shallow, just so you get another 1/8" or so. You might be fine just to put the foam in between the pole pieces and/or around them so they have more clearance.
frankfalbo is offline  
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 08-12-2003, 04:32 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 32
I've checked it out and routing is required as the new pups are a good 5mm deeper than the original units as well as the exit cable being thicker on the 4 conductor DiMazios compared to the 2 conductor Ibby units.

Fortunately, I've found a dude with a router and a steady hand
RichardoUK is offline  
Reply

Tags
air norton , blaze bridge , fixed bridge , fixed bridge ibanez , pickup cavities , pickup height

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
J Custom pickup cavity detail cm_17 All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 17 01-12-2012 09:17 AM
need depth info for drilling a hole for single pickup seniorshred Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 0 12-09-2010 06:03 PM
Trem Cavity Depth HIS ROYAL DARKNESS All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 1 03-28-2008 02:44 PM
JEM pickup hole depth Maidenhere Pickups & wiring 3 02-04-2007 08:20 AM
Pickup is too tall for cavity - direct mounted pickup tomizm Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 8 05-09-2001 05:22 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome