Pickup recommendations for daughters RG - Jemsite
Pickups & wiring Discussion about pickup types, replacements, recomendations, switching, wiring diagrams and sustainer systems for ANY guitar, JEMs included.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 03-16-2012, 11:07 AM Thread Starter

Pickup recommendations for daughters RG

Hi, I'm new to the whole changing of pickups for sound concept, but wanting to make a change. I am doing this for my daughter who has an RG2EX1 as her second guitar that she just doesn't use much anymore, but she really does like it and doesn't want to get rid of it. Her main guitar is a PRS Tremonti that she uses for metal, hard rock, classic/southern rock, and punk or pop rock stuff. She uses her Ibby for drop d tuning mostly now. The RG2 is basswood with rosewood fretboard and has a simple H-H setup with a 5 way switch and one vol and one tone. She plays through a Crate Blue Voodoo tube amp into an Avatar 2x12 cab with one Eminence Wizard and one Eminence Governor.
So I am thinking about a Crunch Lab/Liquifire combination, a Tone Zone/Air Norton combination, or maybe even a Mo' Joe/ PAF Joe for her Ibby. Like I said, this will be mostly for drop d tunings or mostly heavy stuff, not really too much clean.
I have read a tone of reviews and suggestions on here so far and this is kinda how I came up with these combinations. I would like some opinions from you guys about these setups in this guitar. Thanks for sharing.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old 03-16-2012, 11:13 AM

Reviews: 2
Re: Pickup recommendations for daughters RG

don't get tone zone for drop tunnings, it's way to fat. I love CL/LF combo, it's my favorite. Tight, articulate, yet powerful and crunchy You can read my reviews on www.diy-fever.com
post #3 of 20 (permalink) Old 03-16-2012, 11:49 AM

You might also consider a Super 3 for the bridge and Paf Pro for the neck
post #4 of 20 (permalink) Old 03-16-2012, 12:19 PM