Problems with EMG 85 pickup installation - Jemsite
Pickups & wiring Discussion about pickup types, replacements, recomendations, switching, wiring diagrams and sustainer systems for ANY guitar, JEMs included.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-01-2005, 06:23 AM Thread Starter

Reviews: 120
Problems with EMG 85 pickup installation

I had an EMG 85 installed in the bridge position of my RG470 today and I'm having problems with it. It is the only pickup currently wired up in my guitar. There are two pots, one normal emg one and one that is a push/pull pot.

I got the guitar home and hooked it up to my amp and it sounded sweet as. I started playing with what was originally the tone knob and I noticed that there was a slight varition in tone when distorted. What was originally the volume knob seemed to be adjusting the tone more though, but no volume.

(The push/pull pot is in the tone knob position).

Are volume and tone pots pretty much the same in design, in that if wired a particular way they do both functions?

Also, for a active, noiseless pickup there seems to be just as much noise as before with the stock pups.

I was checking to see how the battery was placed in the back of the guitar too and after I put the cover back on I had more problems.

When hooked up with an effects pedal (in this case a BOSS MT-2) the guitar was pretty much dead, no sound from the amp. Hit the pedal on to distortion and some washed out quiet amplified sound (if that makes sense).

I Plugged the guitar directly to the amp with one lead and got nice loud sound, although with the clean channel it was a bit distorted (like a slight overdrive). Distorted channel on the amp and nice distortion. Plugged in another pedal (ZOOM 505) and same thing as the MT-2.

I tested with 4 different leads and even went out and bought another super heavy-duty battery just in case the one I had in there was dodgy and it made no difference.