QM1 is three wire, not four. Help! - Jemsite
Pickups & wiring Discussion about pickup types, replacements, recomendations, switching, wiring diagrams and sustainer systems for ANY guitar, JEMs included.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-23-2012, 09:53 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 450
QM1 is three wire, not four. Help!

Ibanez, in their wiring diagram for the S1520 lists V series pickups when it actually came with QM series. So the wiring diagram on the Ibby site is wrong.

I scrolled through various other years and finally found an S1600 series that listed the QM pickups but alas they have the QM1 listed as a four wire (see diagram). It's a three. See photo. The QM2 is also a three wire.

Any suggestions on how to wire the QM1 up? I went so far as to remove a bit of the outer sheath just to see if there was a green wire hidden down there. The wiring in the guitar was just crazy. Definitely not stock and I have no idea what the original owner was trying to go for.


MichelIV is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-23-2012, 10:53 PM
 
CosmicDebris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Richmond VA, USA
Posts: 3,986
Re: QM1 is three wire, not four. Help!

Red is hot, white splits it, and the bare goes to ground. I should be right on that as it has been many years since I had one of those.
CosmicDebris is online  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-24-2012, 12:57 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 450
Re: QM1 is three wire, not four. Help!

Ok got that but when looking at the 5-way import pinout, I'm not sure I could get all the stock OEM pickup variations with just a three wire neck pickup. The diagram actually shows it as a four wire with an additional braided ground.

The neck red should go to the same spot but I'm not sure about the white neck pickup or the jumper wire going from terminal 2 (2nd from left) to terminal 7 (7th from left) as there's no longer a green wire coming from the neck pickup.

So I've wired it up like the diagram and just left the green/black wires out. I also saw this diagram for two hum buckers and a five way which leads me to believe I may have to put the white neck wire to the second terminal where the green wire would normally go:



I've plugged the guitar in a little Yamaha THR10 (no strings!) and tapped the pickups and I am getting sound. I just don't know what sort of combination I'm getting in the various positions. Good times.
MichelIV is offline  
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-24-2012, 06:46 PM
 
CosmicDebris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Richmond VA, USA
Posts: 3,986
Re: QM1 is three wire, not four. Help!

Ok, I am by no means an expert. However, the position you put the red wire on will be full humbucking madness. The position you put the white wire on will split the HB with it likely being the north coil on. The other one you put to ground.

Sorry but my attention span will not allow me to study your diagram. I am only telling you what the wires do when you put them in certain positions.

Sorry, I can't be anymore help than that.
CosmicDebris is online  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-24-2012, 06:51 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 450
Re: QM1 is three wire, not four. Help!

Hey, every little bit helps. Thanks!
-m
MichelIV is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-25-2012, 12:38 AM
 
RGTFanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: New Lenox, IL-USA
Posts: 10,116
Reviews: 2
Re: QM1 is three wire, not four. Help!

This diagram should work perfectly for you:

RGTFanatic is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-25-2012, 01:06 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 450
Re: QM1 is three wire, not four. Help!

That would be perfect! Strange they list it as a three wire for the RG. I've been doing nothing but soldering for the past two days after work. Wiring up the 1520 plus I had an S5EX1 show up today and I swapped in Prestige S5470's as the stock pickups were just horrible.

I'll go over the S1520 wiring again tomorrow. Thanks for the diagram, I really appreciate it. Something wasn't quite right with the way I had it wired up.
MichelIV is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-25-2012, 10:03 PM
 
RGTFanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: New Lenox, IL-USA
Posts: 10,116
Reviews: 2
Re: QM1 is three wire, not four. Help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by MichelIV View Post
That would be perfect! Strange they list it as a three wire for the RG. I've been doing nothing but soldering for the past two days after work. Wiring up the 1520 plus I had an S5EX1 show up today and I swapped in Prestige S5470's as the stock pickups were just horrible.

I'll go over the S1520 wiring again tomorrow. Thanks for the diagram, I really appreciate it. Something wasn't quite right with the way I had it wired up.
Your welcome man!!!
If you want more interesting options for you 1520, you can get a VLX-91 switch and wire it like a '94 S540......then you could have a '93 and a '94 pup setup!!! BTW.... you new '93 is BADAS$!!!!!

RGTFanatic is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-26-2012, 10:41 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 450
Re: QM1 is three wire, not four. Help!

Yeah again, thank you. That diagram you came up with worked and I managed to get both pickups back in and wired up. I ended up just using the 5-way out of my S5470 as that'd been replaced by the VLX91.

The 1520 is an H-H setup so no middle pickup, couldn't make it like the S540 which, after wiring three other H-S-H setups is probably a good thing. Such a complicated bundle of wires. I think I'd loose all my hair if I ever have to solder another one. Luckily I'm working on a PCB-based no solder solution for pots, pickups and switches. Should make swapping out pickups very, very easy and unlike Seymour's setup, you can use the pots and switches of your choice.

Anyway, gratuitous pic since she's such a beauty.




She's headed to a luthier for some fret R&R after I get everything back together.
MichelIV is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-26-2012, 04:07 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Stockton, CA
Posts: 977
Reviews: 15
Re: QM1 is three wire, not four. Help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by MichelIV View Post
Absolutely gorgeous!!
silverctr is offline  
post #11 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-26-2012, 04:08 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 450
Re: QM1 is three wire, not four. Help!

Why thank you sir. I have a feeling this one is going to be a favorite.
MichelIV is offline  
post #12 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-26-2012, 04:14 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 450
Re: QM1 is three wire, not four. Help!

Forgot to add, I got these cool ebony wood knobs from Stew Mac to replace the visibly worn volume and tone knobs. Tough to see in the photos but I think they really match the guitar. They have ebony pickup mounting rings too and I may add those.
MichelIV is offline  
Reply

Tags
qm1 , qm2

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is there a specific type of wire needed to wire a guitar? IBNZ_RG Pickups & wiring 6 04-18-2010 02:48 AM
How could I wire this if possible? -Rhaab Pickups & wiring 2 03-02-2008 12:37 AM
Rewiring Job: What wire is good wire? Gex Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 3 06-11-2005 02:01 PM
wire... viva Pickups & wiring 0 08-29-2003 01:17 PM
Replacing a 2 wire pup(V8) w/ a 4 wire (evo) - Installing an floydJ Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 3 08-07-2001 01:59 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome