Question Rich Or Others - Jemsite
Pickups & wiring Discussion about pickup types, replacements, recomendations, switching, wiring diagrams and sustainer systems for ANY guitar, JEMs included.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-10-2008, 04:20 PM Thread Starter

Reviews: 1
Question Rich Or Others

I saw you had a Lawrence L-500. Have you played the XL500? Can you get similuar Nuno tones with it. I've heard clips that sound darn close to Nuno using the XL500.

I ask because a friend has one he wants to get rid of cheap. I like the tone of Lawrence's and how they can go from Dimes tone to a much better Nuno type tone.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-10-2008, 04:28 PM

Re: Question Rich Or Others

never used the xl-500, so i am not an expert. the l-500's i have used get the nuno tone easily. it's all about the high end in that pickup. i'd say if your buddy wants to get rid of an xl-500 for cheap, it couldn't hurt to try it.

rich
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-11-2008, 09:06 AM Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by rty13ibz98 View Post
never used the xl-500, so i am not an expert. the l-500's i have used get the nuno tone easily. it's all about the high end in that pickup. i'd say if your buddy wants to get rid of an xl-500 for cheap, it couldn't hurt to try it.

rich
What is Dimarzios closest thing to an L500 or XL500. A lot of people say the X2N but I thought the Lawrence pups cleaned up better and had a smoother tone.
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-11-2008, 05:01 PM Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by rty13ibz98 View Post

rich
I spoke to Bill and was informed the L-500XL was the pickup he made for Nuno's orginal guitars so I'm going to try it.

Would still like to know the closest match from Dimarzio though.
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-11-2008, 07:12 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thrash View Post