Recommend me sum dimarzio buckers! Plz!! - Jemsite
Pickups & wiring Discussion about pickup types, replacements, recomendations, switching, wiring diagrams and sustainer systems for ANY guitar, JEMs included.

2Likes
  • 1 Post By Formerly Given To Fly
  • 1 Post By hhc090020

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-06-2017, 07:05 PM Thread Starter

Recommend me sum dimarzio buckers! Plz!!

Hello! Hoping I can aquire some help from the tone masters of jemsite!

I have a warmoth jazzmaster (heavy swamp ash body, roasted maple neck with rosewood fretboard)Equipped with paf 36th set wired to a single 250k volume pot with treble bleed (470pf cap w/220k resistor in parallel) and a "fixed tone switch" with a 300k resistor in bypass mode to cut out some of the highs. 3 way switch with the middle position splitting both pickups a la petrucci.

I've always been a hot pickup guy but with this I thought I'd try out some paf type pups to see what the fuss is about, unfortunately I'm not digging it. The neck is too bright and spanky and there is not a huge difference in sound when switching from the neck to bridge. The bridge is ok but I'd like more chunk and "scream." Also the middle position with both pups split is too weak and not really usable.

The only other dimarzios I've tried are the tone zone/air norton and while I liked it it was in a 24 fret basswood ibanez and I was into more heavier music back then, but now I'm into a lil bit of everything, jazz fusion, rock, metal, alternative.

So a humbucker set that cleans up well with the volume rolled down would be nice. For the neck something really warm, smooth, and fluid, almost to the point of having no pick attack. For the bridge something that is fat and punchy, but harmonically rich and sings when playing lead. Dimarzios would be preferred as I like the double cream aesthetic. Breed set maybe? Any recommendations from the dimarzio experienced are welcome!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement