Replacement for Ibanez V7 neck humbucker in RG570CT - Jemsite
Pickups & wiring Discussion about pickup types, replacements, recomendations, switching, wiring diagrams and sustainer systems for ANY guitar, JEMs included.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-31-2007, 01:54 PM Thread Starter

Replacement for Ibanez V7 neck humbucker in RG570CT

Well, it appears that my neck humbucker has died... it gives barely any signal in humbucking mode... only the coiltapped mode still sounds normal. So I think one of the two coils is broken (I already replaced the switch, and tried to rewire it, but to no avail).

Anyway, I've been using my RG570CT for over 10 years now, and I've gotten very attached to the sound of the V7.
Since my guitar is a reasonably rare model (it has a Wizard II neck, maple with rosewood fretboard, and an alder body with figured maple top), I'm not quite sure what pickups would go with it.

I could go the safe way and just get an Ibanez V7 replacement, either new or secondhand... But it's not that easy to get hold of them, I think... especially new.

Or, I could replace it with some aftermarket pickups (I'd probably replace the whole set at once then... I have the standard V7-S1-V8 set now). If so, any suggestions to what would sound good in my guitar? I'd want them as close to the original as possible, I suppose.
I had been thinking of DiMarzio Evolution, because they go in the Jem7V, which also has an alder body (although it doesn't have a maple top), and they aren't extremely hot, and have a reasonably 'vintage' edge to them.