seymour duncan pickup advice - Jemsite
Pickups & wiring Discussion about pickup types, replacements, recomendations, switching, wiring diagrams and sustainer systems for ANY guitar, JEMs included.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-16-2004, 10:00 AM Thread Starter

seymour duncan pickup advice

I have a frank gambale sig model and changed the bridge humbucker to a seymour duncan jb. I really like the tone of this pup in my esp horizon and because both guitars are mahogany with quilt tops I thought the jb would sound as good in the gambale sig. But it didn't, it sounded too harsh. Do you have any good suggestions of a bridge pup made by seymour duncan with similiar output as the jb but not as harsh sounding with more warmth. The reason I specify seymour duncan is that many of my other guitars have dimarzio's and emg's and I just want to try something different. Thanks. Stephen.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-16-2004, 10:39 AM

pretty hard to find a not-trebly sounding Seymour pickup (except for the Invader, which is pretty warm). pumped trebles are a Duncan trademark, that's why i prefer DiMarzios.

step back to your DiMarzio, or even get a Super Distortion or a Tone Zone.
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-16-2004, 11:33 AM