Thinking of Buying a DiMarzio Evolution Bridge Pickup - Jemsite
Pickups & wiring Discussion about pickup types, replacements, recomendations, switching, wiring diagrams and sustainer systems for ANY guitar, JEMs included.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-09-2003, 06:24 AM Thread Starter

Thinking of Buying a DiMarzio Evolution Bridge Pickup

I currently have an Ibanez RG270DX and im sick to death of the PowerSound Pickups, I can hardly get a good lead Tone and pinch harmonics are weak as are powerchords. I run my Ibanez through a DS-1 into a Marshall AVT50 so i very much doubt its the amps or pedals vault and the guitar is really nice when it comes to action/frets/neck etc so the only problem i can see is the Pick Ups.

So ive decided that i want to try putting an Evo in my bridge and trying that, and was just wondering if it would be a good replacement, what type of diffrences will i notice from the power sound. and as im completely new to pickups i was wonderign if someone could explain what is meant if a pick up is passive, and also will it be hard to put the evo in my bridge, and any other information you can give me would be really appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-09-2003, 10:44 AM

Well, the first thing you will notice will be drastically increased power. The EVOs are pretty hot. Next, clarity will be much better. The EVO has a lot of mids and presence, and are great at overdriving an amp for solos AND for heavy rhythm. String seperation and definition will be greatly improved. It should be a drop-in replacement.