throughput pup setup - Jemsite
Pickups & wiring Discussion about pickup types, replacements, recomendations, switching, wiring diagrams and sustainer systems for ANY guitar, JEMs included.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-01-2008, 02:26 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 848
throughput pup setup

so i have a guitar and i rarely use my volume so i wana wire it up this way let me know if anyone has a solution

volume pot(1 meg or higher)
3 way selector
1 mini switch for either north or south bridge
1 mini switch for either north or south neck
1 miniswitch for series or parallel bridge
1 miniswitch for series or parallel neck
1 mini switch to bypass volume pot and have throughput

no tone pot

anyone got a wiring solution....???
losgatosrg350dx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-01-2008, 08:08 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: South West UK
Posts: 953
Re: throughput pup setup

I don't think you can do exactly what you want, the problem is when you switch from series to parallel, the coil taps have to change from shorting out the coils to going open circuit and I haven't figured out how t do that with available switches!
I'll see what I can come up with that's close!
Jim
Vim Fuego is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-01-2008, 02:01 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: South West UK
Posts: 953
Re: throughput pup setup

Right, Here it is:

I've used the standard Dimarzio colours and only shown one pickup, but you'll need to duplicate the top half of the diagram for the other pickup also connecting the outputs to the pot (the rectangle on the bottom right).
The first switch is three position and gives you parallel/off/series (you didn't specify how you wanted the pickups switched off!)
The second switch is two position and is the coil tap only active in series mode (coil tapped series and parallel are the same thing).
The third switch is two position and is the volume bypass for both pickups.
Jim
Vim Fuego is offline  
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-01-2008, 10:18 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 848
Re: throughput pup setup

so where would the bypass go to the volume pot and what do you mean i didnt specify how i wanted them to be off??
losgatosrg350dx is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-02-2008, 02:54 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: South West UK
Posts: 953
Re: throughput pup setup

Ha! just re-read your original post and I missed the bit (the very important bit) where you said 3 way selector!!
Here's a better version showing the pot and jack.

Jim
Vim Fuego is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-02-2008, 11:35 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 848
Re: throughput pup setup

this is wicked bad, ive been waiting to have a setup where theres a passthough from pup to outputjack for more deinition and tone!! whats the 330pf cap for?? i usually dont use caps on the volume pot what does this one do in this case???
losgatosrg350dx is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-02-2008, 11:36 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Guelph, Ontario
Posts: 1,178
Re: throughput pup setup

How did you make those diagrams?
ColinMmmmm is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-02-2008, 11:38 AM
 
CosmicDebris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Richmond VA, USA
Posts: 3,980
Re: throughput pup setup

Quote:
Originally Posted by ColinMmmmm View Post
How did you make those diagrams?
I have used AutoCad to make similar in the past for a Class Assignment when I was in college.
CosmicDebris is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-02-2008, 11:48 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: South West UK
Posts: 953
Re: throughput pup setup

losgatosrg350dx
The 330pf cap is to allow treble frequencies from the pickup through to the out put even if when the volume is turned down otherwise things can get muddy. It's common in many guitars (e.g. JEM) but not all (it's on a push push switch on the Joe Satriani models) if you prefer just don't have it (probably won't need it if you have a high value pot anyway).

ColinMmmmm
I used Microsoft Visio and added the pictures of the pickup toggle, volume pot and output jack as a cut and paste from the Ibanez schematics.
Jim
Vim Fuego is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-02-2008, 01:43 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 848
Re: throughput pup setup

yeah i use either 1 meg push pull or 2 meg push pull or just 2 meg single pots..sometimes i use 1 meg pots
and i use x2n pups so i may not need it i guess

i dont have one right now and it sounds fine, but maybe im missing out on something, i use on all guitars right now 1 meg push pull with a 500k tone with a .022 cap and all shielded signal wires and angel wire between pots...now will adding the cap like you said - give me more tone at lower volumes, even with this setup??
losgatosrg350dx is offline  
post #11 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-02-2008, 02:37 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: South West UK
Posts: 953
Re: throughput pup setup

The trouble is that as with most things it's a bit of a balancing act. If you've got a set of pots that you think don't muffle the sound as you turn down, or, if they do you like it that way then don't bother.
The cap value in the diagram is for a 500k pot so I guess you'd use a lower (?) cap value for higher pot values.
I have noticed that as I turn my jem down the tone becomes slighty brighter, so I guess the cap value is a little high.
Jim
Vim Fuego is offline  
Reply

Tags
coil tap , joe satriani , meg pot

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTT rack setup for an ENGL Powerball S420 Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 2 02-02-2007 10:52 PM
UV7BK setup Demogorgos Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 1 04-26-2006 06:51 PM
eventide H3000 series setup help eaton Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 1 07-10-2003 10:38 PM
Setup problems with my DBK...good price for a quality setup? Guitarlos2 Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 7 07-10-2003 02:39 PM
Changing string gauges - What's to be setup again ? Wicked Blade Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 2 04-22-2001 01:21 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome