Wiring for coiltap - noob needs help:) - Jemsite
Pickups & wiring Discussion about pickup types, replacements, recomendations, switching, wiring diagrams and sustainer systems for ANY guitar, JEMs included.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-14-2008, 01:40 PM Thread Starter
Paw

Wiring for coiltap - noob needs help:)

Hello there I have a Jackson DK2 which I have customized with an OFR and (almost) all black hardware..looks wicked Anyway, I need some help with wiring as I'm getting new PUs for it as well..and I'm a noob

I have a Duncan distortion in bridge and will get a couple of SD Classic stack (plus) humbucking singlecoils for middle position and neck position in a few days. I want the bridge humbucker and middle singlecoil activated in the switchers second position, but I want the bridge to coiltap like on lots of jems (FP).

Now I wonder if this will cancel out the humbucking effect of the bridge humbucker and be noizy?

Anyway, this is how Iīd like the switching:

1st position: bridge humbucker
2nd position: bridge humbucker coil tapped + middle single coil
3rd position: middle single coil
4th position: middle single coil + neck single coil
5th position: neck single coil

Pretty basic away from the 2nd position..

Can anyone help me out with any wiring tips, especially for the coiltaping part? The switch has 8 "posts" (or whatever they are called) for wires, but I don't know where to put them.. never done this before. help appreciated
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-15-2008, 03:16 PM

Re: Wiring for coiltap - noob needs help:)

Try this- it's essentially a hybrid of the Jem wiring for splitting the bridge humbucker in position 2 and leaving everything else alone. I combined the wiring schematic from here and one from SD so I'd get the colors right...

That being said, you never know with electronics! If someone else wants to fix my drawing, have at it- the more the merrier!