wiring stacked coil without pots etc - Jemsite
Pickups & wiring Discussion about pickup types, replacements, recomendations, switching, wiring diagrams and sustainer systems for ANY guitar, JEMs included.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-22-2013, 07:20 AM Thread Starter

wiring stacked coil without pots etc

I'm a newbie keen to get into wiring but want to keep things simple to start with.

I've just got what I assume is an old Dimarzio stacked coil (marked IBZ USA, but no other code), which I plan to use as middle, in between Paf Pro and Breed humbuckers. It's 4 pole (with 2 wires currently taped off), with 2 coils separated by a plate.

What are my choices if I don't want to be adding pots / 7-way switches etc?

What I've worked out so far from wiring diagrams here and on Dimarzio site

Option 1: Basic setup without splitting anything (neck, neck+mid, mid, mid+bridge, bridge), so just wiring up the hot, black&whites joined and taped off etc.

Option 2: standard split humbucker set up (which seems to be the standard popular set up here?), which requires the stacked coil in single coil mode. I've got wiring diagrams for this looking at HS diagrams from Dimarzio site. This means adding a switch. I'd rather not do that at this stage.

Do I have other options with the pickups I have to keep things simple for this beginner?

Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-22-2013, 08:25 AM Thread Starter

Re: wiring stacked coil without pots etc

To add, I'm also a bit confused about the splitting the stacked coil. I've assumed stacked HS wiring will be the same as that for my stacked coil(?).

The Dimarzio wiring diagram for 2 humbuckers and a middle HS (in single coil mode) says to just connect the black from the HS and ground the others. (sorry - forum won't let me add a link as to few postings). Diagram is for 2HB one HS (1 Volume, 1 Tone; Neck, Split Neck & Middle, Middle, Split Bridge & Middle, Bridge).