Wiring Suggestions - Jemsite
Pickups & wiring Discussion about pickup types, replacements, recomendations, switching, wiring diagrams and sustainer systems for ANY guitar, JEMs included.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-27-2008, 03:14 AM Thread Starter

Wiring Suggestions

Hey,

I have a guitar thats H/S/S I have a 5 way switch 2 tone pots a volume and a on/on/on mini toggle. I'm not exactly sure how i should wire it. Does anyone have any good ideas or suggestions. I thought of bypassig the mini toggle, but I want all the switches to work and I don't want any holes in the pickgaurd, so something that will utilize all of these things.

I'm not very good with wiring, but if you can give me a basic layout or schematic I can definatley figure it out. I have checked at Guitarelectronics.com and i couldn't find anything there.

Any help is much appreciated.

Thanks,
Dan
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-27-2008, 05:06 AM

Re: Wiring Suggestions

Are all pups 4-wire?

Would be cool to put humbucking single-coil size pups there, and then use the toggle for tapping.

Is the 5-way a standard or multipole?
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-27-2008, 10:59 AM

The on-on-on switch can do 3 sounds out of a 4-wire humbucker(see dimarzio.com) for regular-single-parallel coils. Then do the 5-way in standard mode. Or option 2-swap the on-on-on for a SP-ST and wire it so you can turn the middle pickup on anytime so you could have all 3 pickups(not possible with a 5 way). Option 3-standard 5 way, coil tap the bridge by using the tone pot and replace the toggle with a momentary kill switch for stutter effects.
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-27-2008, 01:33 PM Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ibateur View Post
Are all pups 4-wire?

Would be cool to put humbucking single-coil size pups there, and then use the toggle for tapping.

Is the 5-way a standard or multipole?