Jemsite

Jemsite (https://www.jemsite.com/forums/)
-   All Other Guitars (including Prestige) (https://www.jemsite.com/forums/18-all-other-guitars-including-prestige/)
-   -   is the zr a good trem....................? (https://www.jemsite.com/forums/f18/zr-good-trem-101395.html)

Robert Satriani 04-11-2010 10:56 PM

is the zr a good trem....................?
 
Hi, well im interested in the zr trem but i donīt know if it is a good trem?. do anybody know is this a good trem?????????? thanks a lot :p

Viper-sfm 04-11-2010 11:30 PM

Re: is the zr a good trem....................?
 
Again this question? Don't mean to offend, but there are quite a few threads talking about Ibanez S series and the ZR Trem:

http://www.jemsite.com/forums/f18/zr...de-100727.html

http://www.jemsite.com/forums/f18/s5470f-101021.html

http://www.jemsite.com/forums/f18/ng...oot-95506.html

In short, it's quite a good trem :)

Supernaut 04-11-2010 11:31 PM

Re: is the zr a good trem....................?
 
I would say its a well designed trem, really functional and easy to use. However i had problems with my trem arm going loose after a year or so of heavy playing, with the thread for the arm becoming bear and even cracking. i would put this down to cheap soft materials being used to manufacture it. So i would say, great idea, poor execution.

Robstar 04-12-2010 12:34 AM

Re: is the zr a good trem....................?
 
Yes!!!!

julzius 04-12-2010 02:23 AM

Re: is the zr a good trem....................?
 
yes it is, but just treat it with love.

Keep everything tight on it, and you should be fine.

Toodles!

fabiophonic 04-21-2010 07:52 PM

Re: is the zr a good trem....................?
 
Hi,

i have a ZR tremolo in my S1625 Prestige. It's the one with the D-Tuner
on 6th string. I think that it's a good tremolo. With correct setup, strings
stay always in tune with bad use too (dive bombs and so).
It's smooth in its behavior and i prefer it instead of edge tremolos or
floyd rose types. The only thing i have to advice is the cheap materials
of the arm holder and cap. I needed to change them because they
being damage after lot of use. Simply order the parts a change by
myself, it's so easy.

I did a little mod under the harm holder. By high usage, the screw unscrew,
so I put another tighter one for keep the first in place and it work!
So the mod is two screws under the arm holder.

Wolfbane20 04-22-2010 06:38 PM

Re: is the zr a good trem....................?
 
I have one on my S2170FB Prestige and its pretty solid and stays in tune. Definitely one of the better trems out right now IMO.

ZOMB13 04-26-2010 03:00 PM

Re: is the zr a good trem....................?
 
I installed one on my RG550, its awesome, but the trem arm went loose after a while, I did the Schaller trem arm mod, other than that, everything about the ZR is great.

fabiophonic 04-26-2010 06:30 PM

Re: is the zr a good trem....................?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Sabu2k1 (Post 1004205)
I installed one on my RG550, its awesome, but the trem arm went loose after a while, I did the Schaller trem arm mod, other than that, everything about the ZR is great.

I'm curious about the Schaller Trem Arm Mod. Can you explain
the mod and how you do that? Thankyou!

ZOMB13 04-27-2010 10:34 PM

Re: is the zr a good trem....................?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by fabiophonic (Post 1004252)
I'm curious about the Schaller Trem Arm Mod. Can you explain
the mod and how you do that? Thankyou!

Well you know how the 1st generation ZR's have the unreliable trem arm assembly?
This mod fixes that, I saw it mentioned here by some other members and tried it (it's really, really easy)

You get a Schaller trem arm from Stew Mac ($19 shipped for chrome arm)
Unscrew your loose ZR arm holder assembly (just a nut under tremolo base plate)
Slide the new arm assembly in
Tighten the Allen screw,
DONE

It improves the feel and flutter tremendously and the way it locks makes it more convenient than before.

I don't know if this mod is possible on 2nd or 3rd generation ZRs though.

fabiophonic 04-28-2010 05:55 AM

Re: is the zr a good trem....................?
 
Thankyou Sabu2k1,

please confirm if the arm trem is the one in this link:
Schaller Trem Arm

I hope they can ship in italy. I Have the 1st ZR Tremolo, the one with
the D-Tuning on the E string saddle.

ZOMB13 04-28-2010 05:12 PM

Re: is the zr a good trem....................?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by fabiophonic (Post 1004616)
Thankyou Sabu2k1,

please confirm if the arm trem is the one in this link:
Schaller Trem Arm

I hope they can ship in italy. I Have the 1st ZR Tremolo, the one with
the D-Tuning on the E string saddle.

That's the one.

I am not sure if Stew Mac does international shipping, would be a bit more pricey.

Cool, I think you should be fine.

Update us when you do the mod!

fabiophonic 04-28-2010 05:26 PM

Re: is the zr a good trem....................?
 
Thanks!

I found the Schaller Tremolo Arm at Thomann.de, a German
stock. I will buy it from there. Thankyou again, i will
update you when the mod done.

fabiophonic 02-03-2011 10:29 AM

Re: is the zr a good trem....................?
 
Last week I did the Schaller Mod in the Trem Arm of
the ZR bridge. The socket fit perfectly with a few pressure
on it (resistence is made by the different form of the hole
that is not a perfect citcle).
The Arm stay in position firmly and give a nice feeling
with the floating bridge. No noise on rotating.
The only difference with the original is that the arm is a bit
highest. You can't set the height of the bar.

Schaller Mod +1 :grin:

FrostStorm 02-03-2011 01:04 PM

Re: is the zr a good trem....................?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by fabiophonic (Post 1067250)
Last week I did the Schaller Mod in the Trem Arm of
the ZR bridge. The socket fit perfectly with a few pressure
on it (resistence is made by the different form of the hole
that is not a perfect citcle).
The Arm stay in position firmly and give a nice feeling
with the floating bridge. No noise on rotating.
The only difference with the original is that the arm is a bit
highest. You can't set the height of the bar.

Schaller Mod +1 :grin:

I did that too.. Actually on two S-models. Great trems after the mod. I do it for every single trem (except kahlers) and I just feel that it makes flutters and stuff so much easier.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:27 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
(c) jemsite.com

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome