Jemsite

Jemsite (https://www.jemsite.com/forums/)
-   All Other Guitars (including Prestige) (https://www.jemsite.com/forums/18-all-other-guitars-including-prestige/)
-   -   rg1527 trem problem (https://www.jemsite.com/forums/f18/rg1527-trem-problem-37856.html)

cakewalkr7 06-30-2005 12:30 PM

rg1527 trem problem
 
My high e string keeps breaking right over top of the little roller bearing type part in the tremolo. It definitely has a groove in it and I'm wondering if there's a way to turn it. It looks like it just sits in there and should be able to be turned, but I can't get a grip on it and it doesn't seem to want to move. Aside from getting a very tiny file to file it smooth, what can I do? I just got this back in February, so I'm surprised I already wore a groove in it.

sniperfrommars1 06-30-2005 12:58 PM

Re: rg1527 trem problem
 
Id be surprised if you have an actual groove. that guitar should have the edge pro in it so it doesnt have a roller bearing. Just the insert chip. I havent gotten to deal with these yet so you may want to ask Rich on this one

Rich 06-30-2005 01:08 PM

Re: rg1527 trem problem
 
Swap it with another saddle.

cakewalkr7 06-30-2005 01:48 PM

Re: rg1527 trem problem
 
But how do I get it out? I had the string off and I couldn't really get a grip on it to pull it or anything? Thanks Rich.

Rich 06-30-2005 02:12 PM

Re: rg1527 trem problem
 
Take the lockdown/intonation screw off and pull the saddle.

cakewalkr7 06-30-2005 02:51 PM

Re: rg1527 trem problem
 
Oh, okay. I was cornfused. I didn't realize you mean the whole saddle. I'll that a try. So, there's no way to rotate these things? Thanks.

JTM45 06-30-2005 03:07 PM

Re: rg1527 trem problem
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by cakewalkr7
So, there's no way to rotate these things?

No. A few people have posted here thinking that the Edge-Pro saddles are a 'roller-saddle' type thing but they're not at all.

cakewalkr7 06-30-2005 04:49 PM

Re: rg1527 trem problem
 
So, after a few saddle switches, do I have to try to file them or replace them or what? At this rate, I will have gone through them all in about 2 years.

cakewalkr7 06-30-2005 11:20 PM

Re: rg1527 trem problem
 
man, now my b string just broke. I checked it and sure enough it has a groove in it too. these saddles are junk. I've never had a tremolo wear this quickly before.

cakewalkr7 06-30-2005 11:32 PM

Re: rg1527 trem problem
 
Well, I figured that since I had to replace my b string, I may as well check out the other saddles. They're all worn (with plenty of grooves). This is ridiculous. I'll try to find my paperwork, but does anyone know off hand if this is covered under warranty? I definitely use my whammy a good amount, but it's not like it takes over my playing... which is what these saddles makes it look like. Rich, does this sound like a bad trem to you or have you heard of this problem before with this model? Thanks.

ZJH 07-01-2005 03:01 AM

Re: rg1527 trem problem
 
I don't think warranties cover damage due to aging and regular usage. At least, almost all warranties say something like that.

sniperfrommars1 07-01-2005 09:20 AM

Re: rg1527 trem problem
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by cakewalkr7
Well, I figured that since I had to replace my b string, I may as well check out the other saddles. They're all worn (with plenty of grooves). This is ridiculous. I'll try to find my paperwork, but does anyone know off hand if this is covered under warranty? I definitely use my whammy a good amount, but it's not like it takes over my playing... which is what these saddles makes it look like. Rich, does this sound like a bad trem to you or have you heard of this problem before with this model? Thanks.

First off whens the last time you changed strings? I honestly think your just breaking them from usage, in years ive never seen that many sharp saddles and i honestly dont think ill beleive you till you post pictures of the saddles

Drew 07-01-2005 12:28 PM

Re: rg1527 trem problem
 
This was always a problem with Edge and Lo-Pro saddles, too - simply grab a small file and lightly touch it up to remove the burrs.

Frankly, I'd be shocked if they're wearing faster than an Edge or Lo Pro, as I was under the impression that these were stainless steel inserts...

TheOrangeChannel 07-01-2005 01:11 PM

Re: rg1527 trem problem
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by sniperfrommars1
Id be surprised if you have an actual groove. that guitar should have the edge pro in it so it doesnt have a roller bearing.

I get this all the time about the JP MusicMan Trems also...pretty much any guitar with the piezo option has the inserts that are mistaken for rollers...I'm guessing Ibanez used this design due to offering a piezo on the 6 strings and they use the same saddles soooo....

JTM45 07-01-2005 01:22 PM

Re: rg1527 trem problem
 
I don't think the saddles are the same on the Double-Edge Pro piezo bridges.

I've got a Double-Edge Lo-Pro 7 Piezo equipped trem and the saddles are completely different to the normal Lo-Pro 7.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:48 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
(c) jemsite.com

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome