Jemsite

Jemsite (https://www.jemsite.com/forums/)
-   Off-topic / Miscellaneous (https://www.jemsite.com/forums/13-off-topic-miscellaneous/)
-   -   Best places to start guitar gigs (https://www.jemsite.com/forums/f13/best-places-start-guitar-gigs-61548.html)

newbieguitarmaker 04-17-2007 10:31 PM

Best places to start guitar gigs

Hey, I've been playing guitar for 3 years and I just got a band together and I was wondering where did you guys first start to gig, also my old guitar teacher might let me in with him on some of his gigs if i ask him, should I? I've gigged on bass but usually its standing in for a teacher or some lame theater show which wouldn't have anything to do with guitars.

Thanks

~Newb

waylay00 04-18-2007 02:15 AM

Re: Best places to start guitar gigs

Well, my first performance with a band was at the school talent show. But I'm at a precarious age right now where I can't drive, so I've got a couple of more months before I can really start to get serious about a band.

There just aren't many people my age around here into the music I'm into...Everyone who plays an instrument just wants to play punk Blink-182 stuff...Eww...I wish there were more kids into the whole prog/fusion stuff. Hell, I wish there were more kids into just good all-around rock around here...

mi2tom 04-18-2007 02:19 AM

I've never started a gig before, The first thing I do is thicken up my face and ask for gigs, It's hard at first but now we don't need to go asking around for gigs people call us for gigs :)

newbieguitarmaker 04-18-2007 02:41 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by waylay00 (Post 644687)
Well, my first performance with a band was at the school talent show. But I'm at a precarious age right now where I can't drive, so I've got a couple of more months before I can really start to get serious about a band.