Ibanez JEM Forum banner

Thinking of Moving to LA with my wife any suggestions ?

1K views 13 replies 7 participants last post by  michblanch 
#1 ·
Hi all,
My wife and I are Aussies born in Melbourne and lived here all our lives.

Recently we went on a trip to the USA and really had a great time.

Our favourite places were Miami and LA. We want to live in LA and work there for a few years. Have some fun before we decide to have a family and move back to Australia to raise little guitarists.

Any suggestions about getting work and living in LA.

I am Computer technician by trade, and I also would like to meet musicians and form a band or even work playing music.

I know this post wont be the answer to all my questions.

But any Americans on this forum that have any comments positive or negative or any thoughts or Ideas, are welcome to post them up.

Thanks

#2 ·
when you say LA i'm assuming you mean los angeles. i love it there and try to visit often, have some family there. i am in chicago and almost moved there back in '95 since i just can't get enough of it. in the end i stayed where i am mainly due to lack of money and the fear of it falling into the ocean someday. not to mention, i just love Chicago too much to leave it. it's a great place. can be expensive to live, although it can be done. you don't need a lot of money, depending on where you live. the scenery and beaches and the entire hollywood feel is just great. i would move there someday if i could. good luck.

#3 ·
IbanezFreak, I used to make business trips to Los Angeles (and San Diego, and Santa Barbara, etc...). I'll give you some more details on the area later. However, I'm not as familiar with the computer technician trade, so I really can't help you there.

There are some great areas in LA. Housing is expensive, and commutes can be long. Are you more interested in the downtown area, or the beach?

#4 ·