Ibanez JEM Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2,494 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
what's up guys...i have a question. i recently formed a band again after 6 years of doing nothing. anyway, i have a speaker cab and thinking about getting a 2nd one. i don't know much about the impedence, etc etc. and i'm not an electrician.

anyway, will it be a huge difference with 2 cabs? will the sound be better from a loudness standpoint? does it alleviate some "strain" on the first cab by getting a 2nd? pros and cons to the 2 vs. 1?

right now i'm running a line6 pod pro through a BBE to a mesa boogie 50/50 power amp. the cab i have now is a CRATE and i replaced the cheap stock crate speakers with 50 watt celestions years ago.

the cab right now has 3 inputs i believe....stereo left and right and one for mono. i guess i would use the mono one when i use a 2nd cab. i have it hooked up now left AND right coming off the 50/50. i know this is a basic question but i spent all my time playing on the 1 cab and never needed the 2. i'm looking for a fuller sound during band practices.

oh, we do metal by the way....like old school metallica and i have a great anthrax tone...zack wylde, etc.

thanks!
steve

·
Registered
91 Posts
i believe the ohm impedence is four ohms for 2 cabs(but i'm not sure).as for sound,when my friend started using a full stack i did notice there was a less strain or maybe more clarity in his sound.i didn't notice much in volume difference but hopefully you don't need to be that loud during practice.

·
Registered
1,019 Posts
shredmaster said:
right now i'm running a line6 pod pro through a BBE to a mesa boogie 50/50 power amp.
Hi. I'm thinking of going for a similar set-up, probably a Pod XT Pro through either a Mesa or Marshall Valve rack power-amp and a BBE.
How does your set-up sound ? Does the tube power-amp give it a bit of 'warmth'? Can you get nice tight distortion sounds through that rig?