Ibanez JEM Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey there everyone

About 2 months ago i started playing guitar with a drummer and bass, player and it's been going pretty well. We didn't have a singer so i decided to take the plunge and although i found it hard at first i think im beginning to grasp singing whilst playing. So with this in mind i borrowed a PA system of a friend, had a few ales and went for it. It went pretty well, and it was great to play with a complete band, vocals included. However when i returned the PA the dude i borrowed it from said i blew one of his speakers, which i'm sure i didn't. Anyway he managed to fix it, but now he wont let me borrow it again. So now i'm thinking about buyin a PA system, so could anyone give me some advice as to what i need? I only want to spend 500 pounds maximum, as i havent much money as i need a new marshall too. I dont know if this is not enough for a decent system?Also if anyone knows of a good setup could they let me know? Thanks.

Oh, and who are porcupine tree?I've seen them mentioned on here a few times but never heard any of their stuff!

·
Registered
2,234 Posts
I think a Carvin wouldn't be the deal in the UK that it is in the US.

Look for used gear. At, what, $800? You won't get muchof a system. An amplified head and 2 speakers, or speakers and a seperate mixer & amp. Listen closely for distortion, because with smaller systems you are at risk for frying tweeters - especially lower capability piezo ones often found in cheaper speakers.

·
Registered
363 Posts
Browse the used market (****, classifieds, mags, etc..).

We have a 1000watt system for our band, and I wouldnt like to have anything any less powerful, so I'd aim for that kind of power level. Laney have some nice 2 in 1 power amp / mixer systems.

Two speakers should be enough. I'd check some Wharfdales, they're good value for money over here.