Ibanez JEM Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
839 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I´m looking for a 100W amp. After looking around the amps I have selected are these:

- JCM 900 Dual Reverb ($1200, second hand with cabinet)
- JCM 2000 TSL100 ($1500, second hand with cabinet)
- JCM 2000 DSL100 ($1300, second hand with cabinet)
- Carvin Legacy ($2200, new with cabinet)
- VHT Sig:X ($3000, new without cabinet)

I would take the VHT but it´s too expensive for me now, moreover adding a cabinet). The Carvin is attractive to me too, but I have never tried one before and as I play Jems there is too much Vai hanging around. Finally the JCM came all with de 1960 cabinet, but I´m worried about several bad reports on the JCM2000´s. I think that I´m buying the JCM900 for it´s 90´s metal feel but I´m considering seriously the 2000 series too.

Any help comparing these amps (especially the JCM2000 vs 900 series would be appreciated)

·
Registered
1,178 Posts
I've heard a lot of good things about the DSL100 and DSL50's, but personally I'd get an older JCM800 type amp, but it'd be less flexible . . . .

·
Registered
234 Posts
Hey, what about a JVM410?

100W, 4 channels that cover most of Marshall classic tone.

...and yes, it has an awful lot of gain on the two high gain channels. After hearing it, you will forget about the JCM900.

Check out some UK sites. There are definitely some bargain out there with such a low £.

·
Registered
4,117 Posts
How is the Legacy price so high? Are you going for the Legacy II or is it because you are in spain. Also I think the JCM800 is a nice metal style amp but as colin said, less flexible. The Legacy will need an attenuator unless you like going deaf haha.

·
Registered
3,770 Posts
If you've got that money, look at Splawns. The Quick Rod absolutely pounces on all of the amps listed above for hard rock, Marshall tones. A head is $1850 new and a Splawn 4x12 is around $700. I've seen great condition heads go for as low as $1200 though.

·