Ibanez JEM Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
225 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
they are in Japan and I know on Ebay there are a lot of these 'shops" that are dealers for other sellers (I see the same guitars listed with numerous "shops")
They have something I'm interested in and it's listed on Reverb.
They seem to have decent feedback scores on Reverb but the way things are now a days is that
suffucient?

·
Registered
156 Posts
I've been buying from them since 2001, no issues. All the nicer JDM Ibanez models have been bought from them or Kurosawa. I don't buy domestically any more, Japanese sellers are just better at everything. Import duties are 5 or 10% I think, shipping has gone up since they switched to DHL (due to USPS delays) but that's no big deal, another $100 or so, so ~$220-250, no big deal when it's a rare or impossible to get model that was/is only available in Japan.

·
Registered
'86 RS525, 2021 Genesis RG565, two Custom Suhr Moderns
8 Posts
I haven't ordered from them, but order a Vampire Kiss RG565 from Ikebe and dealt with them through email. Even factoring shipping, the guitar came out considerably cheaper than the cost of a new 565 in the US. Arrived in basically a week, too!

·
Registered
1,133 Posts
Well, if you're ordering a brand new high end something, a bit more on shipping/customs may be less of a big deal.

If I want to buy some kind of regular old model like an R, RG, S or whatever, which is pretty much always lower priced in Japan, I'd have to think about it more since shipping/customs can bump up the price quite a bit relative to what the guitar itself costs.

Still, it might still be worth it in some instances; I mean, you can find older J. Customs for under 1k sometimes.

Anyway, Japan is a great place to buy a guitar, if you can. So much choice!

·
Registered
156 Posts