Ibanez JEM Forum banner

1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay, before anyone get's upset, I tried the search feature here but it just kept taking me back to the same original list of topics which didn't address my question. So if this has already been belabored to death here (and I'm thinking it might've been), I apologize. I'm new to JEM's and currently am in the beginning stages of looking to buy my first one. I'd also like to add that this site is by far the best source of information that I've found on the subject. So why did Steve and/or Ibanez make some of their bodies in Basswood in the beginning, then go to Alder and now I see that they're going back to Basswood again? What's the deal? Is it a struggle between weight and tone or what? Thanks for you time and patience with a newbie.

·
Registered
1,271 Posts
Different woods for different sounds, it's as simple as that. Pretty much the same reason Vai has more than one signature pickup. It's all about the variety.

Rock on!

·
Registered
3,922 Posts
Different woods for different sounds, it's as simple as that. Pretty much the same reason Vai has more than one signature pickup. It's all about the variety.

Rock on!
not quite.

Vai likes basswood. Vai likes good sound. Vai NEEDS light weight on stage.

Alder is a good sound, but incredibly light.

I have 1 basswood jem, and 1 alder jem. The basswood is about twice as heavy subjectively speaking. Sound similar enough, but the weight difference is kind of astonishing.

·
Registered
1,953 Posts
If Vai NEEEDS light weight should they than not stay with Alder yet the 77 as well as the new Floral are Basswood.

I don't think it has anything to do with Vai at all. Alder is probably more expensive :)

·
Super Moderator
7,321 Posts
not quite.

Vai likes basswood. Vai likes good sound. Vai NEEDS light weight on stage.

Alder is a good sound, but incredibly light.