Ibanez JEM Forum banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
299 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Recently i was discussing guitars with a friend of mine and i showed him some photos of my guitar, the first thing he remarked on was the uber lightness of the cut of rose wood on my fretboard and how thats a bad thing and a darker fretboard signifies a better cut and apparently that sounds better.
Now forgive my knowledge because i am still learning about these sorts of things but he showed me a picture of his SZ (same model as mine exactly) and his fretboard was way way way darker than mine.

Is this a problem?
Is it possibly a manufacturing defect.

Should i be concerned.

·
Registered
3,619 Posts
No, nothing wrong with it at all. Dont listen to your friend. Its possibly just a lighter shade of rosewood. Remember this, all woods have different colours and shades, so dont go thinking there is anything wrong with your fretboard. Because there isnt.

If you want to get it a little darker, put some Lem Oil on the fretboard. Easy to get hold of, its cheap, and all you have to do is rub it on. That should darken it up somewhat.

·
Registered
310 Posts
germX said:
after we see your fretboard pic, maybe we'll tell you if it needs reconditioning. the paleness might be due to it being dry- perfectly normal reaction to temperature.
+1 its probably just that fretboard is slightly dry. Rosewood comes in colours ranging from an ebony style black, to a dark reddish brown, to a whiteish brown. Don't believe that rubbish your friend is telling you.

·
Registered
2,221 Posts
the.godfather said:
No, nothing wrong with it at all. Dont listen to your friend. Its possibly just a lighter shade of rosewood. Remember this, all woods have different colours and shades, so dont go thinking there is anything wrong with your fretboard. Because there isnt.