Ibanez JEM Forum banner

1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
2,646 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I originally joined Jemsite to post a build I was doing based off a Perle Guitars Fireman body that I had ordered. I covererd it in a Sapele veneer and stained it dark red. It was cool and I was proud of it, but it was also one of my 1st builds and I was a noob. The main thing was that I didn't fill the grain so I had a textured, pocky top ( you had to look close), but I was like, whatever.. Fast Forward a few years and the guitar isn't getting the play it deserves. I'm not buying guitars lately but I have been doing body builds and refins with excellent results. Long story longer, I have seen a bunch of white Ibby NGD threads lately and I am GASing for a white guitar since I don't have one.

So.....after a sand and some primer, here is where I'm at. I just set the neck, bridge and a dummy set of pickups in it for the pics.

I'm thinking of spraying it with Duplicolor "Clear Effex" which is kind of a chameleon spray that I used on my RG and it worked great. What do you all think? should I do that or leave it bright white? I tell ya, I love sparkles;)

·
Registered
225 Posts
It looks to add the prism effect over whichever color u top with it. I'm curious to see how it does on white now.

Btw, I want Viper Blue for the RG450 DX now. Thanks a ton....lol!

·
Registered
819 Posts
I'm getting a guitar done by an autobody shop (they've won awards for their paint work). The base is black with silver metallic flake. Over that they are adding a pearl clear coat, which is supposed to give a rainbow type effect (depending on lighting and as you turn or rotate the guitar to see the effect).

·
Registered
2,646 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·