Ibanez JEM Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
276 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I've been modifying a RG570CT (one way truss rod) and my next step is to install the frets.
I need to minimize the upbow caused by the fret tangs (hopefully not) although I've already cutted the slots a little bit wider than the fret tangs that I'll be using.
Is there any trick, method, technic to achive this? Like start installing the frets from the middle to the sides, install them alternately, straightforward and pray......??? :)
Anyone with experience on the subject?
It's my first time doing all of this so any help or insight is very very welcome.

https://flic.kr/p/43838444484 https://flic.kr/p/30686368218 https://flic.kr/p/43838445104

·
Registered
547 Posts
I've been modifying a RG570CT (one way truss rod) and my next step is to install the frets.
I need to minimize the upbow caused by the fret tangs (hopefully not) although I've already cutted the slots a little bit wider than the fret tangs that I'll be using.
Is there any trick, method, technic to achive this? Like start installing the frets from the middle to the sides, install them alternately, straightforward and pray......??? :)
Anyone with experience on the subject?
It's my first time doing all of this so any help or insight is very very welcome.

https://flic.kr/p/43838444484 https://flic.kr/p/30686368218 https://flic.kr/p/43838445104
Backbow you mean of course, you don't say whether you're hammering them in or pressing them, it doesn't make any difference which order you put them in or how, as long as they're rolled to correct radius and fully driven home, if the slots are now too big you may need to glue them in place with CA, I put the CA in the slot with a syringe first then install the fret.

·
Registered
276 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·