Ibanez JEM Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I've been using the same Mexican made Fender Strat ever since I started a few years ago and I've been saving up and am ready to buy my first serious guitar. I play heavy metal and am really excited to get a guitar with 24 frets and a locking tremelo. My initial choices were ESP, Killer, Jackson, and Ibanez, but I found the Ibanez not only to be cheaper than the other 3 but also very playable. I think I'm going to order from Ibanez Rules and from doing searches on threads it looks like he is highly regarded. I also feel safer ordering from him since he looks over everything. I do feel a little disappointed that Ibanez no longer offers maple fretboards on the RG models.

Anyway, down to my questions. I have around $1200-1300 and was wondering what you guys recommend? I've only tried an RG prestige neck-thru but really liked it. I was also wondering if someone could tell me, aside from the pickguard and pickups, is there any difference between the Ibanez RG-1570 and the RG-2550? Some people at Harmony Central said the wood for the RG-2550 are probably hand selected. Also, do all the Japanese Prestige guitars have this cool logo on the back?

Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

By the way, I'm very happy to learn the Japanese Fujigen factory will not be closing. : )

·
Registered
9,952 Posts
The RG-2550 is front routed (with pickguard) while the RG-1570 is routed in the back. Both are fine instruments. A different choice could buying a used RG 550 on that "auction site" then you will have enough money left for better pickups and other fun toys ;).

Regards

André

·
Registered
1,918 Posts
You can buy alot of guitar for $1300 ;)
You'd be able to pick up a good jem for that price.

If you like thru-necks, you'll be able to pick up a Jackson soloist on evilbay for that price aswell.