Ibanez JEM Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
299 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Ok, so yesterday i did something with my jackson DK2m That i'm sure some of you will find extremely stupid and suicidal.
Heres the story...
Originally it was setup for 10-46's in E, my trem is blocked and i wanted to play something in C standard, so i put a 12-54 set on it, wtihout adjusting my truss rod or anything else. I had those strings on there for a day. What are the chances that i've damaged something and how do i tell if i have? I know that sounds like a really dumb question but if its not as obvious as just looking at it to a untrained eye i want to know.

I dont know if this matters or not, but as you can probably tell in this video:
my low C when i had those strings on there was a bit on the loose side so when i played it openly it sounded out of tune so a 54 obviously wasnt enough for the low C so hopefully that means there was less tension there?
Forgive me i'm a noob lol.

Thanks in advance,
Daniel

·
Registered
317 Posts
You most likely would have to adjust your truss rod with a different gauge of strings, but it's not very likely you have hurt anything by not adjusting it immediately. Especially since it's only been that way for a day. Adjusting the truss rod shortly after you get "in tune" is a good idea though (when you change things around, like this). I use 09-42 for E standard, a bit lighter gauge than you. In C standard I use 10-52 and it feels like there's the same amount of tension with those. They seem equivalent.

The gauges you're using for C should keep you in that tuning just fine, but it might seem a little looser to you (than it would to me). Though, it's pretty normal guages for that tuning. About the truss rod adjustment again, does your action feel all messed up? You might need to give it some slight turns in the right direction.

·
Registered
299 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·