Ibanez JEM Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys. I just got me a 2003 S470 and it has the ZR Tremolo. Now, I'm completely new to the whole locking tremolo and I've never really worked on a guitar before. But I did some research and some forum posting and found out that the arm holder is loose. Now, I hear that it's possible to tighten it by adjusting the angle of the trem and using a skinny wrench. But I also hear that the whole tremolo system might need to come out to tighten it (and adds some ThreadLock as well). I've seen some guides to remove a trem system with 3 springs, but the ZR Trem has 4 springs and I have no idea how to go about removing it. So if anybody could tell me how to remove it or post a link or something, that would be great. Also, the guitar didn't come with a tremolo arm. Now I know I can buy one off Rich at IbanezRules, but do I need the ZR Bar (#2ZR21N) or do I need the ZR Bar 1.1 (#2TRXBA001)? Because I'm pretty sure I need a screw in bar and that would be the ZR, NOT the 1.1.
Any help at all would be appreciated.
Thanks

·
Registered
242 Posts
Buy the ZR bar.

The outer springs are connected to the stop bar, just pull the barout and the springs with. I never put mine back in, cause it's a much better feel without it AND it's much MUCH better for your trem arm to leave it out, adds to much countertension and this is why they come loose and break mainly)

Remove the other two springs by lower the spring tension with the hex wrench hole in the back (may want to loosen the strings a bit), once they're loose enough pull then off the guitar.

Now remove your strings (if not done already) and ur trem should be free to flop around now. Remove the nuts ontop of the trem posts.