Ibanez JEM Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi all,

I have a Hamer Centaura which I fell in love with when I started playing guitar in the nineties, with - I believe - a swamp ash body and all maple neck. It originally came with 2 SD stacked SC (SS1, I think) and a JB bridge. I never was a fan of the JB and the SC were not stratty enough. It further came with a Floyd Rose, and a 'thick' switch, which removes the treble a bit. Pickups are direct mounted. I play through a Fender Bassbreaker 15W and an Engl 570 + G-Major + VHT 2/50/2.
I wanted a versatile combination (allround pop, rock, funk, ...) with nice, chimey strat-like cleans and a warm humbucker, not too nasal, not too hot but with a fluid lead sound. It's my only guitar with real SCs. I love eighties pop (sorry ^^) - think the 'funky' sounding guitar in Michael Jackson or Madonna songs, but also Dire Straits, Chris Rea, Chris Isaak. At least, that's what this guitar is for, but handling some shred is a plus.

A couple of years ago, I was doubting between Bare Knuckle's Mother Milk, Irish Tour or Veneer '63. I went for the latter, combined with a Crawler bridge. I installed a push-pull to split the Crawler and have it possible to combine it with any SC combination, especially the neck+bridge SC to have some Tele-like quality.
While I think they are all very nice pickups, and I like the split Crawler, the guitar could sound somewhat fatter/warmer (all pickups), the SCs can be louder and have some more twang.

Some months ago I tried an Air Norton S in the neck, which has its qualities, but had too much midrange. Some kind of humbucker-sound in the neck for fluent leads would be a plus, but when split, it would need to be quite strat like (which is more important for this guitar).
Maybe I'm asking too much, but what combinations would you advice?

Thanks!

·
Registered
676 Posts
RIP Hamer, I used to gas hard for a Standard back in the day.