Ibanez JEM Forum banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
1,199 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I will start by saying I’m not getting any younger ha ha. I started playing in 1983. My Mom and Dad agreed to buy me an electric guitar and amp. The first guitar I got, from them, was an Ibanez RS100 and my first amp was. Peavey Decade. The guitar was quite decent, even though the body was plywood. It had a great neck.

I had 2 choices of guitars that my parents presented me. The Ibanez, or a House Brand MIJ Strat under the “Matao” brand, which was made for a chain of stores in the PNW called Music West. It was what got me started.

·
Registered
231 Posts
Awesome thread My first acoustic was a classical not a known brand that I got through the music lessons at school I think 96/97 my first Electiric was an Aria Stg-004 with a Peavy Blazer amp that I didnt appreciate enough I think it was April 2001 and I have been playing ever since.

·
Registered
168 Posts
I started playing in 1986 at age 15 when my parents insisted I needed a hobby. I thought I'd call their bluff by choosing electric guitar, but they supported it. My uncle gave me a 1974 Gibson SG, an amazing first guitar but one that I couldn't bond with because it just felt too small and the players I most admired all played strats or super-strats. I soon sold that to my brother, who never played guitar but recognized the dollar value and held it for a while as an investment, and began playing strats. Only much more recently have my preferences shifted toward Ibanez guitars, the necks in particular.

·
Registered
1,199 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Wow you and I are close to the same age. I never would have guessed that I would be such a gear slut at 52. But guitar playing is really the only pleasure I have left in my life, other than my dog. I used to have 2 other hobbies….competitive shooting and motorcycles. All in all, the guitar hobby costs less than the other two, which I had to give up due to cost.