Ibanez JEM Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Got this Ibanez RG a few months ago from UNKLPUNK here. Was waiting to get the pickguard changed into the black 3-ply before I did any NGD. Here are some pics I took earlier and after the swap...

This guitar is somewhat of a dream guitar as white is my favourite color along with orange and I absolutely love maple boards. Love the ghost inlays. It sorts of has a nostalgic feel to the shark tooth inlays, and I guess it's sweet gesture to RG lovers who grew up playing the shark tooth in their teens. In my case it was the catalogues, of owning a guitar with these sharp inlays. I have no complains about them. Otherwise, the guitar is great, just like most MIJ Ibanezs I've played, even though I'm not very experienced with too many.

As I was changing the pots, I managed to mess up the tone knob. It fits back into the slot, but the knob just keeps turning, not rotation the actual screw/pin. I don't exactly know what went wrong as the knob looks fine. Did I break the knob?

Have an awesome weekend! Looking forward to some post-NAMM NGDs!

:)

·
Registered
323 Posts
Happy NGD! Sweet axe, I love simple white or black with maple boards, gives it a classic vibe!

So that's a 3550mz (2009-2011), and the orange is a 3250mz? Very similar axe's from the same person! Reminds me of the second 3120 I just got off the same guy, should post an NGD for it!

I'm curious, since they both have same specs other than cosmetics, do they sound very identical to each other, or different?

Not many people get 2 of the same / very identical models, but this reminds me of my 3120s, if you love it why not! Could always have one in a different tuning.

Edit: I'm definitely a fan of the black pick guard on white body versus the stock mirror one. Nice.

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks Steve!