Ibanez JEM Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been playing for about 2 Years, and ive had a WalMart First Act tele copy i ditched as soon as i could, a Schecter Gryphon that was beat to hell, And an early 90's Charvel 475 that wasnt exactly well maintained.

Im looking for something with a fixed bridge, and preferably something with good upper fret reach. I want something simple and versatile. Im looking for quality but used isnt really an issue for me. My price range is around $650. Any suggestions?

·
Banned
593 Posts
at 2 yrs of playing
don't spend anymore than $350.00
you will never know the difference, IMHO
buy a used mexi strat have a experienced player check the neck for you to make sure is straight they are pretty consistant.
2 yrs from now load it with some decent pick ups
good luck
cp

·
Registered
109 Posts
Imho, It's better to spend a lot of money once than buying first $250 then $400 then $600 and after all that $1xxx.

I think it's much wiser to get enough money for a really good guitar as soon as possible and skip all the medicore stuff as you save A LOT of money and time selling all the crappy guitars back. I bought an Aria strat for $200 5 years ago, and waited until I could get an RG570 and it was absolutely worth it,

I'd suggest you read a couple of essential info about various pickups and body types and then just go out and try out every guitar that strikes you and ask the shop assistant what is the setup so you get some insight into it. And buy the one you like the most :)

·
Registered
940 Posts
at 2 yrs of playing
don't spend anymore than $350.00
you will never know the difference, IMHO
buy a used mexi strat have a experienced player check the neck for you to make sure is straight they are pretty consistant.
2 yrs from now load it with some decent pick ups
good luck
cp