Ibanez JEM Forum banner
1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
1,104 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
what gauge do people use for their low Bs, mine came with a standard 9-52 set on, but i beffed it up a bit to a 54, but still not entirely happy, what bottom would people recommend i try (to save the hassle of trial end error haha)

·
Registered
1,104 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
ibanezrocker61 said:
I've been using 60's and 62's for a couple years now, never had problems with tuning and intonation etc. Thats just me tho :)
what do you use for the rest of the guitar, and if you went up to a kinda 10-46 with 60 on the bottom did you find that you needed to do anything to the trem interms of adding springs/changing to arrow config?

·
Registered
300 Posts
timi_h said:
what do you use for the rest of the guitar, and if you went up to a kinda 10-46 with 60 on the bottom did you find that you needed to do anything to the trem interms of adding springs/changing to arrow config?
Yup they are 10's, on my 7620, the edges only allow for 3 springs so it has 3, the claw is basically almost all the way tightened, i put the trem tilted back just a little.. no problems at all. on my 7420, I have 5 springs, claw is 3/4 in, bridge tilted back a little, also no problems. On my Jackson 7's (two DR7's), they are the ones with t.o.m./string-thru bridges.

·
Registered
5,514 Posts
JTM,
The tension is just right for me actually.
I bought my PWH from Rich and he set it up mint. How he does it? I'd like to know.
My RG 7620 has had numerous various gauged strings so the trem has been messed with alot and finally its back to normal. I had a tech from a music store set it up and it's nowhere near as good as Rich's set-up.
My S 7420 has had 9's ever since I bought it. It was straight from the factory and the set-up again is nowhere near as good as Rich's set-up.;)

·
Registered
5,514 Posts